Indiana's Finest Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was insane! Okay, if you are watching you waistline, keep looking for a different recipe but if not then this is something I for sure recommend! The only change I made to the recipe was to add an extra 1/2 cup of pecans to the top. SOOO good! Everyone at dinner devoured it. I was worried it would be too sweet (and it was sugary), but it worked out really well in the end. YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I am from Indiana. My aunt introdused this recipe to the family some 35 years ago when I was a little girl. We have all used it at differnt Fall gatherings. Some have thought it to be served at dessert but we say no it goes right along with the main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is ALWAYS a hit at Thanksgiving- even with Grandma Lucy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I don't know what part of Indiana your from, but girl this is the receipe I have been looking for. The cinnamon and nutmeg are what I have always been missing. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU. AWSOME !!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is what a sweet potato casserole is supposed to be. Mmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was not one of the better sweet potato casseroles I have eaten. It is extremely sweet. The topping is a bit thin. A thicker layer would have been better. Also, I had to cook it much longer than 25 min. for it to set. All in all, I will use my stand by recipe instead of this one in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Recipe Group selection of 11/5/11. I am sorry, but this was much too sweet for our taste. As I was reading the recipe I had it in mind to only use half the sugar in both the base and the topping, but I got busy and my DD whipped the yams for me and followed the recipe. After tasting, I think I would omit the sugar in the base and just use half the brown sugar with the pecans if I were to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group and it was ok, but VERY sweet! For some reason, my mixture was a little on the runny side too, but once baked it firmed up into a custard-y type thing, which was good, but I agree w/ others that said that there was too much sugar. Oh, also I only used 1/4 cup of butter in the base part b/c I thought 1/2 cup would be too much for only 2 cups of potatoes. I'm glad I reduced it b/c there was a little pool of grease that formed around the edges, so I couldn't have imagined using the whole amount in there. We liked the topping and the overall flavor was good, but I don't know that I would make this particular version again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. I actually didn't find the sweet potatoes to be overly sweet. The topping however was very sweet and crunchy. I subbed in walnuts being out of pecans, it was just as good. In fact the topping was the best part of this. I cooked it for 30 minutes as it didn't seem to be set. It was runnier than I thought it should be with eggs in it. When I scooped out for plating the rest 'oozed in' to fill the void. Taste wise for me this just doesn't do it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I made this for Recipe Group and followed others reviews and cut the butter and sugar both in half, while still quite sweet this was tasty. Could even pass as sweet potato pie filling in my opinion especially with the topping. I recommend using a shallow 2qt. dish not a deep one, to spread the topping out. Definitely a nice alternative to the usual marshmallowed version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States