Indiana's Finest Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My favorite sweet potato casserole recipe. I make it for thanksgivivi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The quantities are so far off, i cut the butter/eggs/sugar in half and it still made soup, discusting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Recipe Group Selection: 05, November '11 This is very similar to other sweet potato casseroles that I've had. I baked mine in the toaster oven, but baked for 35 minutes rather than 25 and let rest for about 10 minutes before serving. It held it's shape great when served on the plates. My sweet potato hating husband asked if it was something pumpkin. I said "yes" and he really liked it and had 2 helpings. I will never tell him what he really ate! I love to try receipes from Indiana since that is where I'm from. This was a little on the sweet side, but very good none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I made this for Recipe Group and followed others reviews and cut the butter and sugar both in half, while still quite sweet this was tasty. Could even pass as sweet potato pie filling in my opinion especially with the topping. I recommend using a shallow 2qt. dish not a deep one, to spread the topping out. Definitely a nice alternative to the usual marshmallowed version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. I actually didn't find the sweet potatoes to be overly sweet. The topping however was very sweet and crunchy. I subbed in walnuts being out of pecans, it was just as good. In fact the topping was the best part of this. I cooked it for 30 minutes as it didn't seem to be set. It was runnier than I thought it should be with eggs in it. When I scooped out for plating the rest 'oozed in' to fill the void. Taste wise for me this just doesn't do it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group and it was ok, but VERY sweet! For some reason, my mixture was a little on the runny side too, but once baked it firmed up into a custard-y type thing, which was good, but I agree w/ others that said that there was too much sugar. Oh, also I only used 1/4 cup of butter in the base part b/c I thought 1/2 cup would be too much for only 2 cups of potatoes. I'm glad I reduced it b/c there was a little pool of grease that formed around the edges, so I couldn't have imagined using the whole amount in there. We liked the topping and the overall flavor was good, but I don't know that I would make this particular version again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Recipe Group selection of 11/5/11. I am sorry, but this was much too sweet for our taste. As I was reading the recipe I had it in mind to only use half the sugar in both the base and the topping, but I got busy and my DD whipped the yams for me and followed the recipe. After tasting, I think I would omit the sugar in the base and just use half the brown sugar with the pecans if I were to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was not one of the better sweet potato casseroles I have eaten. It is extremely sweet. The topping is a bit thin. A thicker layer would have been better. Also, I had to cook it much longer than 25 min. for it to set. All in all, I will use my stand by recipe instead of this one in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is what a sweet potato casserole is supposed to be. Mmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I don't know what part of Indiana your from, but girl this is the receipe I have been looking for. The cinnamon and nutmeg are what I have always been missing. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU. AWSOME !!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States