Indiana-Style Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
I was very disapointed with the results of this recipe. My family loves cabbage, but this was nothing like I hoped. Very greesey! I gave 2 stars because I like the ingredients, and I'm hoping to play around with it in the future to make better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Excellent recipe. I'd never heard of Fried Cabbage before. For those who prefer a less greasy taste (and maybe cut calories as well)...it will help to partially cook the bacon first, then pour off the grease and continue cooking the chopped bacon until it is crisp. It does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This recipe was excellent! I omitted the butter and just used the bacon drippings. I used a mixture of green, orange & yellow peppers and added a bit of onion powder. It gave it a festive color. A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
After reading rave reviews on this recipe, I was very disappointed in the results. The grease in this recipe coats your mouth and overpowers the flavors of all the other ingredients. I will not be making this one again. Thanks for sharing Gail. Sorry I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This was the best part of our meal tonight!!!! Very yummy and my husband raved about it too. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anderswin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Great recipe! I didn't change a thing on the ingredients and it was truly tasty....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Delicious! We substituted RED bell pepper & 1 pkg FRESH mushrooms, then added 2 chopped jalapenos, 3 cloves minced garlic, & 2 tbls cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Disappointed it did not turn out the way I had expected based on the previous rave reviews. I found it much too wet and the mushrooms, onions, peppers should have been cooked beforehand so that it would not have "boiled" in liquids. However, I did like the smoky flavour imparted from the bacon which made the dish rich and satisfying. I ended up throwing some cooked rice into the pan in order to soak up the excess liquid. Overall, I thought it was a good homecooking-type dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Great Comfort Food!!!! Never had fried cabbage before and it is awesome and easy to make. I didn't change a thing - yes, it is a little greasy (although I think I may have used a little too much bacon) - I served it with grilled pork chops, mashed potatos and apple sauce. The cabbage and mashed potatos are a great combination. Thanks Gail. Update!!! We had some of this cabbage left over and some mashed potatoes too. I saw a recipe on this site call "Stuffed Kielbasa" - since I had half of a kielbasa in the freezer I ended up cooking that as the recipe stated and stuffed it with the cabbage and left over mashed potatoes. It was great and a good way to use up the leftovers. Try it Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Gosh - the taste IS great but it got kind of greasy! I too omitted the mushrooms but added 1/8c water to compensate for their missing "juice." Still - we really did like the taste if it just wasn't so greasy - I felt guilty for eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States