Indiana-Style Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I was looking for something different to share at a potluck and did I find gold in this recipe! It's terrific! I didn't think it was greasy at all even though I was expecting it to be with the ingredients but I didn't use all of the fat the bacon left behind either. Thanks for sharing, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
We really enjoyed this recipe. That being said, I did change a couple of things. I did not add the butter but did not drain the bacon (there was only about a tablespoon and a half of drippings...maybe we used lean bacon??). When I added the veggies, I did not cover it, but fried it on medium heat, uncovered--stirring every 2 minutes or so--for about 12 minutes. This gave it a bit of a brown or "fried" taste. THEN I covered it and turned it down to low and let it steam for another 10 minutes or so. I added a minced clove of garlic and only half of a pepper (as we aren't huge pepper fans). Otherwise, we followed the recipe. Again, REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
This recipe is a winner in my book. I did drain most of the bacon drippings off because I thought it would be too greasey. I served this with a St. Patrick's day meal and it was a hit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
I was very disapointed with the results of this recipe. My family loves cabbage, but this was nothing like I hoped. Very greesey! I gave 2 stars because I like the ingredients, and I'm hoping to play around with it in the future to make better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Excellent recipe. I'd never heard of Fried Cabbage before. For those who prefer a less greasy taste (and maybe cut calories as well)...it will help to partially cook the bacon first, then pour off the grease and continue cooking the chopped bacon until it is crisp. It does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This recipe was excellent! I omitted the butter and just used the bacon drippings. I used a mixture of green, orange & yellow peppers and added a bit of onion powder. It gave it a festive color. A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
After reading rave reviews on this recipe, I was very disappointed in the results. The grease in this recipe coats your mouth and overpowers the flavors of all the other ingredients. I will not be making this one again. Thanks for sharing Gail. Sorry I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
This was the best part of our meal tonight!!!! Very yummy and my husband raved about it too. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anderswin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Great recipe! I didn't change a thing on the ingredients and it was truly tasty....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Delicious! We substituted RED bell pepper & 1 pkg FRESH mushrooms, then added 2 chopped jalapenos, 3 cloves minced garlic, & 2 tbls cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States