Indiana-Style Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was delicious! I used 5 strips of bacon and omitted the butter to make it a little healthier. My husband wanted to know if there was more. I will have to make double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Very good recipe, but I took suggestions from other reviewers: used 1 tsp. of seasoned salt instead of regular salt, added a pinch of sugar and 1/8 tsp. crushed red pepper. Tips: Cut the thick cabbage leaf spines in half or they'll be crunchier than the rest of the cabbage. Use a dutch oven - my 12" large skillet wasn't big enough and I had to switch to a dutch oven midway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Great recipe! I do south beach so I had to make small changes--fried the cabbage with a little olive oil and then with each individual serving i fried turkey bacon and then tossed the cabbage on top--it was fantastic!! (i bet with real bacon it would be even better!) thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I make this all the time. We don't add the mushrooms but we do add one can of diced tomatoes. My Grandmother taught me this recipe and called it German Cabbage. Never understood the name, but it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Was okay but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made this recipe a bit healthier with olive oil about 2 tbsp. I also used fresh mushroom and added a tbsp of water to make up for the juice from the can. This was outstanding. I used seasoned salt and fresh ground pepper. I never expected it to taste soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Wow!!! I've always loved fried cabbage and this recipe looked interesting. I didn't green bell pepper so used red bell pepper instead with excellent results. I decided to forego the mushrooms and didn't miss them a bit. I'm thrilled to have leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Nothing like the Norths cookin, lovin it all the way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie_gurl_luvinmafamily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was just above average in taste and texture. I looked for shortcuts to time spent in preparing the dish so I used pre-cut cabbage. I also did not like all the grease and butter, so drained the bacon grease and used less butter. I would make it again, if time permits. Most often I look for something with less prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is the most amazing recipe for cabbage that I have ever used. My whole family loved it. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States