Indiana-Style Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
i chose this recipe b/c it said indiana and that's where my dad's from.. he never cooked when i was growing up so this wasn't something familiar to me.. i wanted to give it a try even though i was worried it was going to be kind of bland and greasy.. i figured i'd correct that by cooking the veggies and bacon separately and adding chicken bouillon instead of just S&P.. i used fresh mushrooms and halved the onion.. the bouillon didn't cut it so i experimented until i was satisfied with the final product.. i added a splash of apple cider vinegar, a bit of sugar, some dried thyme, chili powder, cumin, lime juice, and some lemon juice.. once i realized i wasn't going to be happy with it tasting so plain i figured i'd reach out to the other side of the family (guatemala) and give that a try.. it's tasty but nowhere near what the intention was.. i also plan on adding some chopped cilantro before serving.. at least this is a somewhat healthy side for dinner as i never added in the bacon.. that'll go into something else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Being from Indiana, I'm all about trying the Indiana recipes. This fried cabbage did not disappoint. We liked the addition of the celery and the green peppers in the mix. I did omit the mushrooms due to personal taste. A great recipe that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I am a Hoosier and have never had this. It was fantastic!! Will def make again. I used a cast iron skillet like another reviewer suggested. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I loved this! We have cabbage usually once a week, so I was looking for something different. I used fresh mushrooms and sauteed everything in some bacon fat then added store-bought bacon bits. I didn't use any butter and didn't think the dish was missing it. We had this with some pork tenderloin for a delicious low calorie, low carb meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I was surprised I liked this so much. I left out the mushrooms, used a high-quality bacon, and red pepper instead of green for an extra splash of color. What was especially good was the leftovers though. I used the leftover cabbage in a roast beef panini, topped with a slice of muester. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Totally da'Bomb! Made a big pile of this stuff the other night. Didn't know if I or anyone would like it...we ate every bite. Of course, anything with this much bacon is bound to be good. Definitely adding this to my repertoire of tasty meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I have been making this for years!!! I cannot believe that I have never rated it till now. This is awesome. The only thing I change is I double the recipe for my large family!!! This is one of my Husband's favorite dishes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I loved this version . The only thing i do different is sprinkle some vinegar on the cabbage while it is cooking. yuo don't taste the vinegar it just gives it that extra great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Very nice dish with a lot more going on than the sauteed cabbage with bacon and garlic I'm accustomed to making. I added garlic to this as well and helped the mixture simmer along with a little chicken broth. I also used fresh rather than canned mushrooms. This is both interesting and flavorful. I suggest using the recipe as a guide rather than following the measurements precisely (using more or less bacon than called for comes to mind for example) - cooking "to taste" is always a good idea in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was our first fried cabbage! Wow was it good! Loved all the different ingredients! Worked really well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States