Indian Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
This was a great recipe. If you don't have garam masala, you can make it yourself. Just look up garam masala in the encyclopedia here and use those spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I would recommend adding more vegetables, and not adding them until about halfway through the cooking time. Otherwise the veggies are total mush by the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This was really good! The spices/seasonings were just right. My husband who has never had Indian food really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
wonderful recipe. served with chicken tikka, naan bread and salad with yogurt-lemon vinaigrette. even the kids (aged 2 and 7) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
A very nice rice dish - I also did not add the veg until much later on... I think this will be my main rice dish in future -- many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Really good. Instead of regular onion, I used green onion that I already had cut up. I hadn't bought Basmati rice, so I used brown rice and adjusted the cook time accordingly. I also added 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper. I used vegetable out of a stir fry mix, which had baby corn, red pepper, peapods and bamboo shoots-- not entirely Indian vegetables, but good nonetheless. I did not add them until the last 15 minutes of cook time. I think I may play around with the spices a bit next time, but this is still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
A very nice spiced rice, if nothing particularly special or exciting. I am a vegetarian college student and so I am always looking for quick, easy, and cheap main dishes. This one fits the bill. I will definitely be keeping it around. variations: I used a little over a cup of frozen peas and corn, and added them after the rice had been cooking about 10 minutes. I also left the pieces of onion quite large. I added another 1/4 tsp of cumin and some ground black pepper. This works equally well with short-grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This had a really good, almost sweet flavor (could have been the type of onion I used) and was a nice contrast to Curry Chicken. The only problem I encountered was that the cooking time was too long. Had I not checked the pot, I might have burned the rice! Good recipe, overall! If you have more Indian dishes, please submit them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
could use more spice and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soaad Ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
It was great however, next time i would use less water, maybe just 13/4 cups, use 1 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of garam masala since i'll like the spices to show more, will maybe even add a stick of cinnamon. Will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States