Indian Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
could use more spice and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Excellent rice dish! Wonderful flavor! I make this quite often with tandoori chicken and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
While not terribly flavourful on it's own, this is an excellent side dish. I served it with pan-fried salmon marinated with lemon juice, cumin, turmeric, coriander powder, garam masala and chili powder, with some raita on the side. This combo was perfect. I might make it again to serve with a creamy curry. I used a rice cooker instead - I combined the ingredients on the stove, the poured it into the rice cooker. I also doubled the veggies. Next time, I'll add the veggies in halfway through cooking as I prefer them still bright and colourful, not dull and grey. The onions are essential I think (I used yellow ones). They add a lovely sweetness to the dish. As a side dish, this serves 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
very nice but i would prefer it a bit more spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was nothing to write home about. Very little taste. I'll stick with Martha Stewart's Indian rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Iowa, USA
Living In: Thalwil, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
easy to prepare, nice mild flavour, partnered nicely with butter chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This is a great side dish if you are making a main course or fabulous as a meal in itself. I have made this recipe time and time again and even my 3 year old loves it. The flavors are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
With a few changes we really enjoyed this as an addition to our dinner - following some other suggestions I increased the garam masala to 3/4 tsp. Also, I added the mixed veggies at the 10 minute cooking mark. The total cooking time was 30 minutes and the rice was great. A keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
A nice rice dish, but somewhat plain. I followed Jenn G.'s suggestion and increased the cumin and put the veggies in after 10 minutes of cooking. Rice cooked perfectly, but seasoning was rather mild. Tasted great with the channa masala and naan I served, but I would rather have had something that really resembled Indian cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Made my own garam masala a recipe from this website. It is a no frills recipe. Probably would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA
Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States