Indian Vegetable Bhaji Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
It tastes good for me. Its 4&1/2 for this recipe because , the ground cumin is too pungent for me it would be better if we use cumin seeds directly rather than grinding them. In ground state cumin opens up the taste and aroma too much for this recipe which I felt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kumar Uppaluri

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This was delicious and the spices were right on! I made 2 minor changes. I used black cumin seed and brown mustard seed. That's it. So flavorful! I served with naan on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Loved this! I know it's supposed to be dry, but I'm just too lazy to stand there stirring so it doesn't burn, so I added water. I let it boil off, but it does come out more moist than otherwise. Also didn't have black mustard seeds so I threw in some kalonji and yellow mustard seeds instead . And yes, it needs salt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Really delicious! So much healthier than the cream-based Indian dishes. I didn't have black mustard seed and used double cumin seeds. Also, I substituted frozen peas for fresh...I just added them to the dish later. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Everyone enjoyed this. I didn't use potatoes or carrots but it was good with just cauliflower and peas. Not too hot but very flavoursome. Served it with rice and lentils. Great vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This was fabulous and a big hit with company! Can't wait to make it for a potluck but will definitely make this repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Have never tried this before so I have nothing to compare it to. It was good, but felt it could have used some salt. Also, we didn't have black mustard seed. This might have made a difference. We'll try it again. Made it with the Biyrani rice which was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very easy to make and versatile dish. I changed out cauliflower because i didn't have any with shiitake mushrooms (they were going to go bad!) and regular peas with snow peas. I ate it as a main dish and served as a side for family. Added plain yogurt and pita bread! MMM. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I thought this overall was very good but too dry. I didn't have the cumin whole seed nor the mustard seeds and I think that could have enhanced the flavor. This is worth making again ...I would just add some stock to moisten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States