Indian Turkey Burgers With Lime, Cucumbers, and Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
The Indian Turkey burgers were outstanding. The spices, garlic and spinach enhanced the normally bland turkey meat. This is a great way to enjoy a healthy burger and get plenty of nutrition to boot. I haven't tried the shrimp burger yet, but am anxious to do so. I'm thinking of having them as hors d'oeuvers for a party. Joan Gordon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
we did not even use all of the ingredients and this recipe was amazing-we did not do the lime chutney cucumber, cloves or jalapeno and i am sure it is even better with all of those added in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was very good. The spice mix was extremely subtle and blends very well with spinach, and it was no exception in this dish. And the spinach kept the turkey very moist. I didn't spoon the turkey mixture between two pita halves... I just put it in the pita pocket. After tasting, I decided to add a dollop of fat free yogurt with mint leaves. This heightened this dish to Low-Cal-Indian-Extraordinaire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
EXCELLENT! This was a HUGE hit -- there were zero leftovers. I made the turkey exactly as stated, except I made them into smaller "patties" rather than "burgers." They were incredibly tasty and added lots of zing to a boring old turkey burger. I made the cucumber/lime/cumin salad and served it on the side. Instead of pitas, I used Indian "chipatis" (or parathas), which is a yummy, flat Indian bread -- sort of like a tortilla but softer, fluffier and more tasty in my opinion -- got them frozen from the Indian grocery store and heated them up on a skillet. Everyone was cleaning their plates and complimenting the dish. The biggest compliment came from my brother in law, who grew up in Kenya around lots of real Indians who make real Indian food. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
If you want a burger loaded with flavor you've got to try this! I didn't have frozen spinach on hand so I chopped some fresh and made my own chutney. My 2 and 8 yr olds didn't care for them, but my husband and I absolutely loved them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Very good. My 2 and 4 year olds both ate as much as I did! We omitted the ginger, dh is not a fan of ginger, and did not have any chutney, also ate on regular hamburger buns. Just happened to be what we had on hand, and it was really tasty. We'll do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I used pita pocket bread and hunted down the chutney, which is hard to find in my town. The cumin/cucumber/chutney flavors are awesome together! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Kellebrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Very yummy. I made 5 burgers out of the batch instead of 4 and they were just the right size for me. I was out of cloves and used dried ginger but pretty much followed the rest of the recipe. Well I used homemade mango chutney and an english cucumber too. I also stuffed everything inside the pita pocket and added a bit of baby lettuce to boot. Spicy brown mustard to the pita bread was my main change I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
We didn't go crazy over these. Admittedly, Husband just simply prefers regular hamburgers, but I didn't like the texture of the turkey burgers in this at all. I am going to give them another try but use ground beef and ground lamb. Everything else was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Very yummy and very easy. Would make again in a heartbeat. Served with Tsaziki and pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States