Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I've never attempted Indian food before, but we really enjoyed this recipe. I served it over rice. It was different. I omitted the cardemon as I didn't have it on hand. I used chicken breasts cut in half instead of thighs and it came out super tender. I did cook it the recommended 2 hours. Even my pick toddlers ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I followed as closely as I could, only subbing ground cinammon for the cinammon stick and diced tomatoes instead of peeled whole. My family RAVED about this dish. And the leftovers are even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I always try to make a recipe 'as written' the first time..however, I was making another dish that called for '4oz coconut milk' and that left me with 8oz of extra milk to deal with. I added the coconut milk to this recipe and not only did it give me some extra sauce to put over the rice, the hint of coconut was an added plus. A few spinkles of fresh corriender on top.....wow GREAT RECIPE! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I felt this dish was very bland compared to other Indian dishes I've made in the past. I would certainly "doctor it up" by adding cayenne pepper to the dish to give it more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was perfect! Processing the onion mixture added to the saucy texture, and as I only had a 28oz can of tomatoes, I used the whole thing. That was perfect because it diluted the spices enough that my family couldn't complain it was too spicy. It also left enough sauce to scoop up with the naan! Iwill try it with cut up chicken bits next time because the thighs looked so lonely... thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This dish was heavenly. It calls for whole, peeled tomatoes, crushed.......I used a can of crushed tomatoes that didn't say "whole", and followed the recipe exactly as posted. The consistency of the sauce was just wonderful, all of the spices were divine, and my whole family loved it, including my 2 1/2 year-old grandson who kept begging for more sauce! This will definitely go into our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pianojan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very authentic, but decrease salt to 1/2 tsp! I didn't add anything to this to make it spicy, but I can see where that would be great for those that like some kick. My 4 year old son liked the chicken and my husband who eats a lot of Indian food really liked it as well. I served it with saffron yellow rice and peas, yum. I will add this to my Indian recipes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This is a great "base" for a great dish. I did make changes, as did many others. My Husband is from Kerala India, so instead of using bay leaves, I used curry leaves. I sliced some small green chilis to add some heat. Also, I didn't grind the onions, but did a fine chop. I did use the dark thigh meat (boneless) since it has a better flavor with indian cooking. I think the last change was to chop some cilantro about 1/4 cup and added it towards the end. Someone had mentioned that thie dish was missing something, I found that too and the cilantro was it by my taste. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Normally I'm not a big fan of tomato + meat, but this was delicious. Made the recipe pretty much as given, but used diced tomatoes since that was what was on hand. Amped up the heat ever so slightly with 1/4 tsp of Kashmiri Mirch (red chili powder) and served on brown rice. Again...just wonderful; thanks for the recipe,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Excellent!I like this more than curry. I made Naan to go along with it, yummy. We couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States