Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I have two teenagers at home. When I looked in the pot there was nothing left! Easy to make, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was sooo good! My family loved it! I would have to say this was the first Indian dish I have ever made and it turned out perfect. I only made a couple of little changes first i used dried ginger instead of the fresh and also I only made it with 4 thighs instead of 6 i think it worked out perfect because it left the perfect amount of sauce to have with the rice i stacked it on. I WILL make it again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Living In: Indian Head, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I found this lacking in flavor. As is, it tasted like stewed chicken with tomatoes. I multiplied all the spices and added chili powder, yogurt, a little garam masala, and a small potato. It saved the dish, but I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Very good will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Decatur, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I've never attempted Indian food before, but we really enjoyed this recipe. I served it over rice. It was different. I omitted the cardemon as I didn't have it on hand. I used chicken breasts cut in half instead of thighs and it came out super tender. I did cook it the recommended 2 hours. Even my pick toddlers ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I followed as closely as I could, only subbing ground cinammon for the cinammon stick and diced tomatoes instead of peeled whole. My family RAVED about this dish. And the leftovers are even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I always try to make a recipe 'as written' the first time..however, I was making another dish that called for '4oz coconut milk' and that left me with 8oz of extra milk to deal with. I added the coconut milk to this recipe and not only did it give me some extra sauce to put over the rice, the hint of coconut was an added plus. A few spinkles of fresh corriender on top.....wow GREAT RECIPE! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I felt this dish was very bland compared to other Indian dishes I've made in the past. I would certainly "doctor it up" by adding cayenne pepper to the dish to give it more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was perfect! Processing the onion mixture added to the saucy texture, and as I only had a 28oz can of tomatoes, I used the whole thing. That was perfect because it diluted the spices enough that my family couldn't complain it was too spicy. It also left enough sauce to scoop up with the naan! Iwill try it with cut up chicken bits next time because the thighs looked so lonely... thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This dish was heavenly. It calls for whole, peeled tomatoes, crushed.......I used a can of crushed tomatoes that didn't say "whole", and followed the recipe exactly as posted. The consistency of the sauce was just wonderful, all of the spices were divine, and my whole family loved it, including my 2 1/2 year-old grandson who kept begging for more sauce! This will definitely go into our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pianojan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States