Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was so good! (I LOVE a filling meal that is low in calories) I doubled the recipe except for the chicken b/c I knew we'd like the extra sauce and it turned out perfectly when served on a bed of rice. I did add less nutmeg then called for and didn't have any ginger root on hand so I just sprinkled in some ginger. A five star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
We really liked this - very different than things we've had before. I did make changes - used a large tin of crushed tomatoes and added some water since they are thick (I realized that this is essentially much more tomato though than the recipe called for - I wanted lots of left over sauce, which I have). Added a bit more cumin and turmeric, as well as about a teaspoon of curry powder. Added on hot chile for some heat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I used chicken breast instead of chicken thighs. I also used fresh tomatoes from the garden. Other than that I followed the recipe perfectly. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I didn't even have all of the spices necessary, I had to substitute chicken breast for legs, and diced tomatoes for crushed, and it still turned out great! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Doubled sauce and spices. Sub'd powdered mustard for tumeric and garam marsala for coriander. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I did modify it a bit as some recommended but was no less pleased with the result. For starters, I did not use bay leaf or nutmeg in mine. I did add chopped green/red bell pepper, twice the tomatoes, and 3-4 dried chilis for heat, and adjusted the spices to taste. I cooked 45 covered, 45 uncovered and had a lovely thick sauce to go with. I served mine with a simple saffron rice with peas and carrots mixed in along with naan. I think the only thing I will try different next time is to use lamb as the meat. Otherwise, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Lick-the-plate good. I lived around someone from Pakistan for a few years who always made this type of chicken from memory (just threw stuff in) and this tastes closer to it than any restaurant I've ever been to. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I followed it quite closely, with only a few modifications. Like others, I did not process the onion, garlic and ginger, and instead just diced them very finely. I also used powdered cinnamon instead of a stick. Instead of whole canned tomatoes I used freshly diced tomatoes and added some (maybe 1/2 cup) plain tomato sauce. Lastly, I added about 1/2 cup of very finely chopped cashews to thicken the sauce and give it a bit more texture. SO GOOD! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This was so awesome. So zingy and fresh. Thanks for making me look so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Decent chicken dish to put in the once a month round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States