Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was a real hit at the pool party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
It was just OK. The chicken could definitely benefit from salting before cooking. I took other reviewers' advice and cooked 45 min covered and 45 uncovered, the sauce consistency was perfect this way. Probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was amazing. I used ground ginger & cinnamon, as I did not have fresh on hand. I also used allspice and nutmeg in place of the cardamom. It came out absolutely perfect, and I will definitely try it again with the recommended ingredients. I served this with green beans, steamed from frozen and tossed in the remaining sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Starkenburg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Excellent! Followed the recipe exactly, but used 1/4t cinnamon and an extra cut up tomato from my garden. Served with long grain rice and store-bought naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Easy to make, great tasting curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Surprised there was some heat to this but it was still mild enough for the kids. made as specified except without the cardamom since i didn't have any. still flavorful. Will try again with cardamom as this may make it perfect. easy to prepare. just threw everything into the crockpot on high for a few hours and turned down to low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I didn't have cardamom, so left it out; only had powdered ginger so used that. I didn't process the onion and spices into a paste. It still tasted great - very similar to an Indian restaurant dish! I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and loved the result, served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Kester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lamont, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is so good! But leave the cinnamon stick whole or you will be biting into small chunks of cinnamon bark. Read through reviews for good suggestions, the most important one is to double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Giving this 5 stars based on the changes made (although not many). We took 2 chicken breasts chopped into 1" cubes and cooked as per directions. Added 1/2 can of water after mixing in the diced tomatoes. Added 1 tsp or so of red curry paste for some heat. Simmered for 1/2 hour (until rice was cooked) then tossed in 20 prawns 10 minutes prior to serving. Served over a combination of basmati and Aztec Blend rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Wow, this was outstanding! Warmly spiced and savory, it's great over rice. I don't usually like to modify recipes the first time I try them, but I didn't have much choice - happily, this is a very forgiving recipe. I used a blender since I don't have a food processor, added extra ground cinnamon instead of the cinnamon sticks, used ground ginger (not root), and added a pinch of curry. I also used chicken breasts cut into large chunks, since I prefer white meat. Totally scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmi331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States