Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Excellent! Followed the recipe exactly, but used 1/4t cinnamon and an extra cut up tomato from my garden. Served with long grain rice and store-bought naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Easy to make, great tasting curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Surprised there was some heat to this but it was still mild enough for the kids. made as specified except without the cardamom since i didn't have any. still flavorful. Will try again with cardamom as this may make it perfect. easy to prepare. just threw everything into the crockpot on high for a few hours and turned down to low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I didn't have cardamom, so left it out; only had powdered ginger so used that. I didn't process the onion and spices into a paste. It still tasted great - very similar to an Indian restaurant dish! I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and loved the result, served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Kester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lamont, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is so good! But leave the cinnamon stick whole or you will be biting into small chunks of cinnamon bark. Read through reviews for good suggestions, the most important one is to double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Giving this 5 stars based on the changes made (although not many). We took 2 chicken breasts chopped into 1" cubes and cooked as per directions. Added 1/2 can of water after mixing in the diced tomatoes. Added 1 tsp or so of red curry paste for some heat. Simmered for 1/2 hour (until rice was cooked) then tossed in 20 prawns 10 minutes prior to serving. Served over a combination of basmati and Aztec Blend rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Wow, this was outstanding! Warmly spiced and savory, it's great over rice. I don't usually like to modify recipes the first time I try them, but I didn't have much choice - happily, this is a very forgiving recipe. I used a blender since I don't have a food processor, added extra ground cinnamon instead of the cinnamon sticks, used ground ginger (not root), and added a pinch of curry. I also used chicken breasts cut into large chunks, since I prefer white meat. Totally scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmi331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is a very tasty recipe! I served it along with Indian Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was very good and I will definitely make it again. However, I did think it was lacking something...not entirely sure what though. I may try a little curry next time. This is definitely a good recipe that can be embellished upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very tasty dish! Love the spices in this. A few changes I made: omitted cardamom (didn't have it), used 1 tsp ground cinnamon instead (should have used perhaps 1/2 or 3/4 tsp), grated the onion, garlic and ginger instead of processing it in food processor, used 10 chicken thighs instead and served with chapatti. Oh, also added some cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes as we like our food hot! a very delightful and rich curry-ish dish. Love it and will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States