Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I really liked this recipe, I followed it exactly, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very good basic recipe. I felt something was lacking when I finished and after reading other reviews, I added cilantro and coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I browned my skinless, boneless chicken thighs in 1 1/2 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil then set aside first. I like the pieces of chicken bits and juices added to my dish. I didn't make a paste, but rather a sauce of browned onion and Baby Portobello mushrooms then added 4 cloves of garlic, 2 tsp of powdered ginger, 1 tsp of garam masala, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp of cayenne, and 28 ozs of crushed tomatoes. After the sauce simmered for 10 minutes, I added my cooked chicken thighs to merge all the good flavors of the spices and tomatoes with the meat as the sauce thickened. Served with basmati rice and garnished with chives, black olives, and cherry tomatoes. It was an "Out of This World Meal" which earned me the prized and golden Stamp of Approval (SOA) from Mi Gato Loco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was a great recipe. I wanted more sauce so I made the following changes: Doubled everything EXCEPT cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and bay leaves. Since I doubled the onions, I sliced one and sauted until slightly browned. The other onion I diced into the paste. I used 3 chicken breasts instead of chicken thighs. For the tomatoes, I crushed one can of whole tomatoes and then added a can of diced tomatoes. I have a Rometopf clay oven, so after everything was sauted together, I poured the recipe into the clay oven and cooked 45 minutes covered, and 45 minutes uncovered. This dish would be fantastic with shrimp, as well. Just don't add shrimp until last bit to avoid them being rubbery. Great recipe, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have made this recipe dozens of times over the past couple of years since I found it on this website. I usually make it as written except I use curry leaves instead of bay leaves (doubling the recipe for leftovers at my families request). This recipe is as close as I have ever come to restaurant quality. Lately I have started adding 1-2 cans of Chic Peas with about 20 minutes left to cook. It adds a layer of flavor and texture that changes the recipe without compromising the original flavor. My 2 sons request this with the Chic Peas a couple of times a month. I serve it with high end basmati rice and naan bread. Lately I also add 1/2 - 1 teaspoon of Cheyenne pepper to up the heat a bit. I have doubled and tripled the garlic and ginger with success as well. I don't think you can add too much ginger with this recipe. Overall, this is a fun recipe to experiment with. Thanks Shecooks2 for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was a real hit at the pool party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
It was just OK. The chicken could definitely benefit from salting before cooking. I took other reviewers' advice and cooked 45 min covered and 45 uncovered, the sauce consistency was perfect this way. Probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was amazing. I used ground ginger & cinnamon, as I did not have fresh on hand. I also used allspice and nutmeg in place of the cardamom. It came out absolutely perfect, and I will definitely try it again with the recommended ingredients. I served this with green beans, steamed from frozen and tossed in the remaining sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Starkenburg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Excellent! Followed the recipe exactly, but used 1/4t cinnamon and an extra cut up tomato from my garden. Served with long grain rice and store-bought naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Easy to make, great tasting curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States