Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Agree with other reviewers who didn't have/use a food processor - finely chopped the onion, ginger,, and garlic and stirred together and it still turned out great!! I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and added extra tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I live for Indian food this recipe is superb. What else ya got!! :-) Thanks for sharing this! I have made it several times now, each time pretty much as written with two very small exceptions: 1. I add a bit of Indian chili for heat and 2. I use curry leaf instead of bay leaf but only because I had some left over from another recipe, dried it, and was looking for things to do with it and SHECOOKS2 mentioned in a review of her own that it is used in southern India instead of bay leaf. Also, I make sure to use San Marzano tomatoes. Otherwise, I have no idea why anyone would mess with this masterpiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dominique220
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Oh my goodness!! My husband loves Indian food and he gives this recipe 5 stars! I'm not a fan of Indian food normally but this chicken is delicious! I served it with homemade Nan, white rice and sliced English cucumber. Will definitely make it again. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
The taste of this dish is fantastic. I appreciate how you can vary the consistency of the sauce when using (or not using) a cover on your dish. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Loved it! Would def add some heat next time...and we served it over spaghetti squash for a filling low carb touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made this exactly as written except that I used chicken legs (rather than thighs), and about 20 minutes before serving I removed the legs from the sauce, sliced the chicken off the bones, and put the chicken back into the sauce. While this smelled wonderful while cooking, it wasn't all that great in the eating. I think it needs more spice, something to give it a bit more flavor. Even with all the spices here, about all we tasted was tomato and chicken..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Lovely!All of the taste and none of the 'heat' you can get in even the mildest curries. Did make more sauce so had enough to put in the freezer for the next time. I used chicken pieces and once cooked took the meat off so no messy bones left on the plates, so maybe chicken breasts would work just a well Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very nice, easy, nothing missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I have a very similar recipe that is simpler with the spices: cinnamon, cumin, red pepper flakes and salt. This list is a little intimidating. The recipe I've been using also has like a quarter cup peanut butter stirred in. It is an amazing addition, that when I don't tell people, they can't identify, but love. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Made it work with what I had. Used 5 diced tomatoes instead of canned. Did not use nutmeg added some paprika instead for color. I used drumsticks instead of thighs. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States