Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
OMG this recipe was sooo tasty. Even though I had to improvise cause I didn't have turmeric (I just used about a teaspoon of curry powder), nor ground cardamom (used 2 whole cardamom pods), and used 1 tsp of cinnamon in place of the stick, it was still the bomb. My husband and I love Indian food and this tasted just like the way our Indian friends make it. Very exotic, and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Excellent. Has a beautiful spicy Indian flavor. May not be that authentic (?), but was very tasty. Regarding ingredients, I skipped the food processing, instead just cut the onions really really small. I also used one can of diced peeled tomatoes (because I couldn't find crushed in the right size) and squashed/crushed them myself. Finally, I used 4-5 chicken breasts, pressed/cut thinly. Regarding cooking/serving, I cooked (step three) for 45 minutes covered, then noticed how liquidy the sauce was, and then for 45 minutes uncovered. The sauce boiled down to a nice thick very flavorful paste. There wasn't enough sauce to serve this over rice or put extra sauce on rice, but the sauce amply covered the chicken and was great. Some reviewers commented that this dish should be mixed with / served with something else like potatoes. So, I served it alongside the Aloo Phujia (potatoes, onions, and tomatoes) recipe from this site and that pair worked very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This dish was just not what I thought it would be. I traveled all over India in a 2 month span and had some awesome food there, and I was hoping this would take me back to those days. But sadly, it was nothing special. Just didn't taste authentic to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I was a little disappointed by my fiance's reaction to this meal. He liked the flavor, but felt that something beyond sauce + chicken was needed . . . recommended potatoes or peas. I would have to agree. The only change I made was using 1 t cinnamon (no sticks around) Will try again with the potatoes and peas, and this recipe is definately a keeper! I suspect that the changes will make this a 5-star recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Very easy to make and delicious. Tasted good even though I didn't have cardomom, cloves, and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This recipe is truely awsome. I was looking for a recipe to wow my Indian boyfriend and it certainly did. He went back for three helpings. He loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and served it with rice. I know that he will be asking when I can make it again. I loved it too and there were no leftovers either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
This is sooooo good. I made it with Naan and served at a dinner party- everyone wanted the recipe. This is wonderful and I will add it to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
Next time I'll add more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I made this after having been unsuccessful on my own with making Indian food. The spice measurements here are spot on, and provide the right flavor combo that has gotten favorable approval from several of my "from India" Indian co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Made this for dinner, it was good, but not excellent. Didn't have cardommon, but I doubt that would've made a difference. As a matter of fact, with all the fancy spices, it still tasted like curry to me, I don't think there would be much a difference in flavor if you just used curry alone. Anyhow, I used 1/2 1/2 tomato sauce/h2o and added peas and diced potatoes. Served with rice and bread and it was good, also good by itself. Can't really imagine this tasting that good w/o the tots and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States