Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Very good! I forgot to add the bay leaves but it tasted wonderful anyway. I followed the recipe exactly aside from the bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Excellent. Works with chicken and lamb shoulder chops as well. Cook from St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This was my first time making anything even remotely Indian, and when it was done, it tasted just like what I have had in restaurants. I loved it. I used drumsticks instead of thighs because that is what I had, and once cooked and chopped up in the sauce, it was delicious. Served it with basmati rice and naan. It could easily be adapted for vegetarians by using chick peas and/or cauliflower instead of the chicken and cooking for a much shorter time. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Very tasty. The chicken is incredibly tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
mmmmmmmmm yummy AND easy. creates a very authentic curry taste. it wasnt spicy, really, so i added a few hot pepper seeds. Other than that (and omitting nutmeg and adding a touch of sugar and a bit more cinnamon), i followed it exactly. It was easy to put together, and i just left it on the stove for 3-4 hours, uncovering it at the end so the sauce would thicken. Very good served with naan, basmati rice, and indian-style string beans. I will sooooooo make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I opted to mince the onion and garlic by hand instead of dragging out the processor. This was a lot of work up front, along with pulling together all of the spices, but with a very good outcome! The meat was very tender and tasty. I did have to keep adding more olive oil though, because it got very dry 1) when I added all of the spices, and 2) when I added the chicken. One reviewer said to add broth when adding the chicken...that might be a good idea. Whether I will make this again, I do not know, but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was great! The only thing I did differently was not haul out the food processor for the paste. I just chopped onion fine, crushed my garlic with my garlic press, and grated my ginger. I like heat so I added something similar to cayenne but one could use red pepper flakes if wanting to kick it up a bit. I added about 1/3 cup chicken broth when adding the chicken to the pan. I threw in about 1/2 cup chick peas with the tomatoes. I think adding the broth helped it not be too dry. I served this over basmati rice with peas thrown into the rice. Very nice easy meal. This is really a great staple recipe for those of us that have just about every type of spice there is. I didn't have to run out for any of the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
This recipe is really great. If you like indian food without the heat factor, this recipe is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
OMG this recipe was sooo tasty. Even though I had to improvise cause I didn't have turmeric (I just used about a teaspoon of curry powder), nor ground cardamom (used 2 whole cardamom pods), and used 1 tsp of cinnamon in place of the stick, it was still the bomb. My husband and I love Indian food and this tasted just like the way our Indian friends make it. Very exotic, and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Excellent. Has a beautiful spicy Indian flavor. May not be that authentic (?), but was very tasty. Regarding ingredients, I skipped the food processing, instead just cut the onions really really small. I also used one can of diced peeled tomatoes (because I couldn't find crushed in the right size) and squashed/crushed them myself. Finally, I used 4-5 chicken breasts, pressed/cut thinly. Regarding cooking/serving, I cooked (step three) for 45 minutes covered, then noticed how liquidy the sauce was, and then for 45 minutes uncovered. The sauce boiled down to a nice thick very flavorful paste. There wasn't enough sauce to serve this over rice or put extra sauce on rice, but the sauce amply covered the chicken and was great. Some reviewers commented that this dish should be mixed with / served with something else like potatoes. So, I served it alongside the Aloo Phujia (potatoes, onions, and tomatoes) recipe from this site and that pair worked very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States