Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was really good and easy. I couldn't find the ground cardamom, so made it without. I added a little water from the tomato can, before it started simmering... and let it go for about 1-1/2 hours. It was perfect. At first, my husband and I thought it was just good... and then the addictive quality took over. We finished the whole pot in one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Good stuff- & pretty easy. Took the lazy way & just chopped the onions. Used 1 t. jarred mashed ginger (like garlic also comes) & 1 t. cinnamon. Used breasts & petite diced tomatoes. Also added 1/2 c. water after the first hour since it was pretty dry- & I kept it covered the whole time. At first, it seemed too spicy, but that was only the first bite. The chicken is moist & very flavorful- even after scraping off the tomato mixture for my 8 year old!! (who did eat it all, by the way!) I chose this for low carb. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I swear, this is the only Indian food I can cook and not end up with a yucky tasting mess. It is so good. Let it cook for a couple of hours to get the meat tender. I love it with boneless chicken breasts and always serve it with Indian Spiced Rice that was posted by Jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
So much flavor in such a simple dish! Perfect for company with white rice and maybe sweet potatoes on the side. Only change I've made is to use a can of diced tomatoes instead of whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaeOutWest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Awesome!!! I even loved eating the curry with just rice. And to add some heat, I added little bit of chili powder. It was perfect!! My east indian husband (me canadian) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Yum! This chicken was delicious and I was told that it tasted very authentic by friends from Southeast Asia. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Very good! I forgot to add the bay leaves but it tasted wonderful anyway. I followed the recipe exactly aside from the bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Excellent. Works with chicken and lamb shoulder chops as well. Cook from St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This was my first time making anything even remotely Indian, and when it was done, it tasted just like what I have had in restaurants. I loved it. I used drumsticks instead of thighs because that is what I had, and once cooked and chopped up in the sauce, it was delicious. Served it with basmati rice and naan. It could easily be adapted for vegetarians by using chick peas and/or cauliflower instead of the chicken and cooking for a much shorter time. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States