Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
DH only thought this was okay. The leftovers are sitting in the fridge waiting to become science experiments. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I can't tell you how many times I've made this wonderful dish! It is now a staple in my house. I make it exactly as written, except I usually use 8 thighs (I buy them from Costco & they come 4 per package). Because of the extra pieces, I add a bit extra of all spices and a small can of tomato sauce for extra liquid. I prefer a creamy texture to my sauce, so at the end of the cooking time I remove the bay leaves and cinnamon and use my stick blender to puree most of the sauce - you can do it right in the pan, just move the chicken to the side. It also helps incorporate the excess oil that floats to the top. Oh, and if you have a small 'bullet' type blender, it is perfect for making the onion/garlic/ginger paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Outstanding! I quartered the thighs and it was cooked in an hour. We like spicy food, so I added another 1/2 tsp each white and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Stumbled across this recipe looking for a chicken curry dish. Amazingly, this recipe does not even contain curry! It has become one of my favorite recipes to make for company because it smells great cooking, is easy to prep prior to a guest's arrival, and is truly delicious. I serve it over white sticky rice. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I made this without the bay leaf, and used fresh tomaotoes and dried ginger because it was what I had on hand. I also used cayenne pepper instead of pabrika. I think this is what made this dish fantastic because it was so hot and spicy! It tasted better than what you get in an Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This dish had a lot of flavor, and the chicken was very tender, but it was not spicy enough for my taste. A generous wallop of Sriracha was added at our table. The hubs loved it, though, so I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Ross O'Neal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I'm Indian, and this recipe is pretty darn authentic as far as the ingredients are concerned, with the exception of the bay leaves (we use curry leaves) and the nutmeg. It's nearly identical to how I make chicken curry. The only difference is that I chop up my own tomato, and use less. Also, I've read that some people put green or red bell peppers in their jalfrezis. "Jalfrezi" incidentally means "dry fry" - the intention is to have a very thick gravy that coats the chicken nicely, as opposed to having a very liquidy sauce. But I guess you can make it whichever way you think tastes better! Oh, and by the way, Indian curries usually don't have "curry powder" in them. It's a common misconception. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eljaustin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I made this and this came out pretty good - not great. Not very thick. I boiled as much as I can. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was really good and easy. I couldn't find the ground cardamom, so made it without. I added a little water from the tomato can, before it started simmering... and let it go for about 1-1/2 hours. It was perfect. At first, my husband and I thought it was just good... and then the addictive quality took over. We finished the whole pot in one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States