Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this for a very close indian friend. He seemed scepticale when i told him what i was cooking, but after making this dish for him, he said if hadnt known that i made it he would have thought it was made by someone who grew up cooking indian food. wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
want to like it, but missing something....not salty enough. cooked it for 1.5 hrs and still not really right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Absoultely wonderful!! This will be a staple in my repertoire. I have been looking for a good, healthy, home-made indian recipe for quite some time. This is it. Truly a favorite from a picky cook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Made this for dinner a few nights ago because I was in the mood for something different. I really liked this, followed the recipe EXACTLY. It had lots of flavor and I liked all the spices used. It ended up being a kind of a pricey meal because I hardly had any of the ingredients. I will make this again on a special occasion like a celebration dinner, but its a little out of my price range at the moment to make regularly. Thanks for the recipe, it was VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
YUMMY! I love Indian food and this is one of my favorite recipes now. This is an excellent recipe. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I've made this several times now and my husband loves it. I've followed the advice of others and simmer 45 minutes covered and 45 uncovered. This recipe as written does not make a lot of sauce, so I have also doubled the tomato and spices with good results. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
The only things I did differently were to just throw in the onion, garlic and ginger (didn't process them), and I added about 2/3 of a can of tomato sauce as it looked like the chicken was going to be a little dry. Also fiddled around with the spices til it was how we like it. All in all this was an easy, tasty and inexpensive meal. Served it over basmati rice with paratha. Would have been nice with some fresh cilantro sprinkled on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This recipe looks really great and I'm excited to try it. I'm wondering if this is our Indian "Karhai Chicken", and if so, authentically onion is excluded from the ingredients, and the meat is stir-fried half-way through the simmer time on high heat in the tomato-base, then simmered until the oil and sauce separate. At the end it is garnished with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I have made this several times, including for a party where I served 13. It was loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
My husband is Indian and he absolutely loves this recipe. I double the recipe and freeze it so he can eat it whenever he wants!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States