Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very authentic, but decrease salt to 1/2 tsp! I didn't add anything to this to make it spicy, but I can see where that would be great for those that like some kick. My 4 year old son liked the chicken and my husband who eats a lot of Indian food really liked it as well. I served it with saffron yellow rice and peas, yum. I will add this to my Indian recipes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This is a great "base" for a great dish. I did make changes, as did many others. My Husband is from Kerala India, so instead of using bay leaves, I used curry leaves. I sliced some small green chilis to add some heat. Also, I didn't grind the onions, but did a fine chop. I did use the dark thigh meat (boneless) since it has a better flavor with indian cooking. I think the last change was to chop some cilantro about 1/4 cup and added it towards the end. Someone had mentioned that thie dish was missing something, I found that too and the cilantro was it by my taste. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Normally I'm not a big fan of tomato + meat, but this was delicious. Made the recipe pretty much as given, but used diced tomatoes since that was what was on hand. Amped up the heat ever so slightly with 1/4 tsp of Kashmiri Mirch (red chili powder) and served on brown rice. Again...just wonderful; thanks for the recipe,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Excellent!I like this more than curry. I made Naan to go along with it, yummy. We couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this in the crockpot and the only thing I did different was to use boneless/skinless chicken breasts instead. It was VERY good! The spices are a blast scentation in your mouth with every bite! My family loved it! The next time I made it I added a diced carrots & celery to have more veggies. Still super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
extraordinary!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This recipe was really delicious and easy to make. I cubed chicken breasts into smaller pieces and it cooked for about an hour and was tender and so fragrant. The entire house smelled wonderful. This just might become a staple in our house - thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liezl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I submitted this recipe. I am not Indian born (Italian!!) but I have been married to my Indian husband for 23 years. I learned from the master's hand--his mother!! Northern Indians use Bay leaves...south Indians use curry leaves, which, by the way are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHECOOKS2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
- cut chicken into small pieces - add chickpeas - do not puree onions, etc, just fry them up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight. It is an excellent recipe although I made some changes. I used garam masala instead of buying cardamon, tumeric and nutmeg. When I tasted it, it tasted a bit too tangy tomato and it was not hot enough for me so I added 1 teaspoon of chili powder and 1 teaspoon of sugar to neutralise the tanginess. Now, it tasted quite similar to the chicken at our favourite banana leaf southern Indian restaurant back home in Singapore. My husband loved it although our apartment now smells like an Indian restaurant! Hahaha... We will definitely be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diadiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States