Indian Tomato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Delish! Made as recipe is written, just added a bit more water near the end as we like extra sauce. Very tasty and quick to prepare. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I'm a novice cook but wanted to make something different for me and my boyfriend. He loved it and said it was his favorite thing I've ever made, and he is a big fan of Indian food. I found it very easy, and mostly followed the recipe as written. Cooked for 45 minutes covered, 1 hour uncovered. I thought it was a lot easier to throw the onion, garlic and ginger in a food processor instead of cutting it all up by hand. I did go heavy on the spices (rounded measuring spoons) and didn't have cardamom so I just left it out. It made a delicious sauce that we scooped up with basmati rice and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrispySugar
Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Very Good!! I followed the recipe pretty closely with a couple of exceptions. Like some of the others who have reviewed this recipe, I didn't bother using my food processor to make a paste out of the onions and garlic, I just diced them very fine. The other thing I did was substitute 1 tsp dry ground Ginger for the fresh ginger root, and 1 tsp ground cinnamon for the cinnamon stick. I was a little concerned that the amount of sauce wouldn't be enough and the meat would come out dry, but as it simmered the juices from the chicken came out and added to the sauce. It came out very flavorful and the meat was fall-off-the-bone tender!!! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I used salsa in place of the can of diced tomatoes and this turned out so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I've made this several times and have only tweaked the recipe a tiny bit. I use 2 whole, fresh tomatoes instead of a can and have served it over brown rice or with naan. I leave out the bay leaf and added more clove and nutmeg, but that's just personal opinion. An excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I don't know if I did something wrong I followed it accordingly, but I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Sorry but this was not to our liking. None of the spices came through. I simmered it for a long time and still it was not what I had hoped for. Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Delicious! My changes, because of what I had on hand: I used diced tomatoes and boneless-skinless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I always grind my own spices. I didn't use anywhere near the amount of tomatoes suggested. I also put in a chilli instead of pepper. Curries are usually rather hot. I liked it well enough. Served with plain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Added a bit of tomato paste at the end and served over basmati rice....very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States