Indian Tacos with Yeast Fry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I enjoyed the fry bread as a taco shell. Will be making this more often. Am planning to share this with friends who want to have tacos without the store bought tortilla shells. The only thing I did not care for was the oily fingers I got while eating the tacos. The yeast dough gets nice and light, easy to mix and roll out. The leftovers are great with a little honey drizzled over them. Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Peiffer
Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
this is the best recipe. it reminds me of my Grandmother us to make. home style cooking its a must in our home..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIXIEDARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
IN MY TEENS MY FRIEND'S MOTHER MADE FRY BREAD FOR ALMOST EVERY MEAL - TRUE INDIAN FROM MINNESOTA - BROUGHT BACK SO MANY MEMORIES - I HAVE LOOKED FOR THIS RECIPE AND NEVER FOUND IT - THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
These are my absolute favorite fry bread recipe! We are from South Dakota too and these are just the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This brings back memory of my grandmother who use to make these when I was a child. I followed the recipe but I let it sit after mixing the dough together for about 2 hours. It came out just as I remember when my grandma made it. Thank you so much. I used a few other recipes I found online but didn't come out right. This is the real deal. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Used your recipe for the bread section of the dish. It came out beautiful! Super tasty golden brown bread. It was just like I remembered them from my childhood. When visiting my Native American friend, her mom would make this for us... YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I was looking for an easy frybread recipe, that my family would love and being a South Dakota native I found it I would like to say Thank You BETSY4020, I have made just the frybread on multiple occasions =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was great! I too was trying to recreate the taste of South Dakota fry bread!Lived and worked on Rosebud Indian Reservation and had these on numerous occasions. I loved them! It turned out fabulous and was super easy! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing. I am a 42 year old Native American who loves cooking. I have been making fry-bread for over 20 years. Although this is a great recipe, I did alter it slightly. I used evaporated milk and cut the water in 1/2; using 1/2 milk and 1/2 water. I prefer my bread a little sweeter so added more sugar than it calls for. I also let the bread rise for about 40 minutes w/ a damp towel covering it before frying. I really like that I was able to switch the servings to 35 and the recipe adjusted the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I've only made the fry bread, but about half a dozen times. It's the "money" part of the recipe, honestly! The rest is for the person eating the taco to decide. I'm a fan of my refried beans, guacamole and cheese. When we're done eating dinner, I shake the leftover fry bread in cinnamon and sugar. The bread is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States