Indian Tacos with Yeast Fry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
IN MY TEENS MY FRIEND'S MOTHER MADE FRY BREAD FOR ALMOST EVERY MEAL - TRUE INDIAN FROM MINNESOTA - BROUGHT BACK SO MANY MEMORIES - I HAVE LOOKED FOR THIS RECIPE AND NEVER FOUND IT - THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
These are my absolute favorite fry bread recipe! We are from South Dakota too and these are just the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This brings back memory of my grandmother who use to make these when I was a child. I followed the recipe but I let it sit after mixing the dough together for about 2 hours. It came out just as I remember when my grandma made it. Thank you so much. I used a few other recipes I found online but didn't come out right. This is the real deal. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Used your recipe for the bread section of the dish. It came out beautiful! Super tasty golden brown bread. It was just like I remembered them from my childhood. When visiting my Native American friend, her mom would make this for us... YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I was looking for an easy frybread recipe, that my family would love and being a South Dakota native I found it I would like to say Thank You BETSY4020, I have made just the frybread on multiple occasions =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was great! I too was trying to recreate the taste of South Dakota fry bread!Lived and worked on Rosebud Indian Reservation and had these on numerous occasions. I loved them! It turned out fabulous and was super easy! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing. I am a 42 year old Native American who loves cooking. I have been making fry-bread for over 20 years. Although this is a great recipe, I did alter it slightly. I used evaporated milk and cut the water in 1/2; using 1/2 milk and 1/2 water. I prefer my bread a little sweeter so added more sugar than it calls for. I also let the bread rise for about 40 minutes w/ a damp towel covering it before frying. I really like that I was able to switch the servings to 35 and the recipe adjusted the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I've only made the fry bread, but about half a dozen times. It's the "money" part of the recipe, honestly! The rest is for the person eating the taco to decide. I'm a fan of my refried beans, guacamole and cheese. When we're done eating dinner, I shake the leftover fry bread in cinnamon and sugar. The bread is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I think this was a great recipe. The fry bread was wonderful and easy to make. The dough rolled out well. The recipe stated that it made 6 fry breads. These were as big as dinner plates. Make sure you have plenty of paper towels to absorb the oil. Nobody in my family could eat the whole thing. I did tweak the recipe by using 1/2 pound of Johnsonville hot Italian sausage and 1/2 pound of mild Italian sausage instead of hamburger. The Johnsonville sausage gave the Indian fry bread a kick that I really liked. I topped the fry bread with refried beans, added the meat mixture and then all the other toppings. If I make this recipe again I would leave out the tomatoes, tomato paste and suggested seasonings. I will fry the Italian sausage with 1/2 cup of onions. Then mix 1/4 cup of chopped green chili. I would add the refried beans and Italian sausage mixture to the fry bread. Toppings would include lettuce, tomatoes, cheddar cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The best frybread I have ever had! soooo yummy! Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Grilled Pork Tacos al Pastor

Pineapple juice, chiles, and spices make a terrific marinade for grilled pork.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States