Indian Sweet Potato and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Nice recipe! The only addition I made was a small can of tomato paste for color and some extra flavor. I also let it simmer for about 20 minutes longer than instructed so it condensed down to a thicker consistency, and served it over jasmine rice. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheppardArts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This recipe is okay, but it is most definitely missing something...the flavors do not taste balanced to me. There seems to be too much garam masala, it definitely needs salt, and even then it is just okay. For a similar, but far superior recipe, try the Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Very interesting combination of ingredients that nicely compliment each other. The timings and the measurements are just about right, and if you want a crispier dish you can shorten the times especially on the lentil cooking. Instead of the soup broth, I used coconut milk, which made it more curry like. Boiled some rice, and had a nice hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I read a lot of the reviews beforehand and like one other cook, I felt it was missing something so I modified it mid way thru cook time. It was VERY good with these additions: Scaled to 10 servings: Omit spinach I omitted "red pepper flakes" and used 1/2 tsp ground red pepper from the Indian store. 1 T ground coriander 2 cinnamon bark (about 2" each) from Indian store (remove before serving) 1 T curry powder 3-4 Tablespoons sugar at the end (this may be a little sweet for others, I suggest using 2 T and add to taste) Little bit of salt I blended a few ladles full of cooked lentils and added back to the soup for some thickness. The Lentils will have a crunch, they are not overcooked or mushy when you follow cook times on recipe. I really liked it this way. My vegan friend and non vegan husband liked it. I froze what we wont eat in the next 2 days, it doesn't contain anything that will curdle so I suspect the freeze wont hurt it a bit. It is definitely better the next day after the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This is a yummy Indian inspired dish. It's great for us here in Tanzania because all the ingredients are readily available (including the red pepper flakes I carried over from the US!). Love the flavor, however, if you want a soup, you'll have to add liquid as there is not enough broth left after cooking the lentils and sweet potatoes. We happily eat it as a side dish of veggies. We use swiss chard that we grow ourselves as we don't have any luck with spinach. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Great recipe, the only thing I'll change when I make it again is I would shorten the lentil cooking time, because red lentils are so small they don't need 15 minutes on top of the 15 for the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This tasted great..and the house smells so good now... and I love the combination of spices. I made the following changes with some ideas from another recipe on this site: I used 3 sweet potatoes, I added three chopped carrots, and one chopped apple. I omitted the spinach and red pepper flakes. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon. I used chicken broth because that was what I had on hand, and I added about 1 1/2 more cups of water. I left it chunky like a stew. I would probably serve it with jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I love this soup! It's very easy to make and has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkguyden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wonderfully delicious! As a vegan, this hit the spot! On a side note, this soup needs more liquid to be considered a "soup". I added a 12 oz can of light coconut milk, a diced and peeled granny smith apple, and a small serano chille with seeds removed and minced instead of the red pepper flakes. IT was out of this world!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I loved this recipe. I'm not vegetarian, so I added some cubed beef (browned first before adding the onion) and I accidentally picked up a yam instead of a sweet potato (laugh, go on), but it was great. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States