Indian Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I liked it, I substituted the veg oil for softened butter. I also added allspice, cinnamon & cardamom to the sugar, also as most others who commented, I made mine a bit thinner. But worked well. ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bri Hertz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Tastes good, but it turns out different every time we do it. My husband rolls it out a lot thinner than me, and we sometimes use different types of frying oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Easy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriusGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Decided to try this today and it was delicious!! I am looking forward to making this again in the future and share it with my family and friends. This would be a good breakfast dish to me. Thank you very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This should not be categorized as a diabetic-friendly recipe. Between the sugar and white flour, this would raise the blood glucose level very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Good recipe. However the second rolling for me was very, very messy - the dough was incredibly sticky. I ended up having to soap my rolling pin to get it clean. :( So I won't be making this again although I really did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I agree with the reviewer that compared these to fried tacos. I did fry them vs cooking in a thin layer of oil. I did fold in the sugar (and cinnamon and nutmeg)as described, however it really needed a coating of the same after cooking. I rolled in advance and then layered the prerolled breads with wet papertowels, so I could fry after guests arrived. Everyone liked, but they didn't seem "Indian" to me. I will try a naan recipe next time. But, considering the ease of the ingrediants and a quick prep; these were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This recipe is good as a back up if you dont have time for the one with yeast. this one kind of tasted like flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Cooks up like a tortilla + tastes like a tortilla = a tortilla recipe. A tasty tortilla, but not what I was looking for. I made them as I cooked, adjusting the amount of sugar and playing with the thickness. Like a previous reviewer said, I agree medium thickness is good. It was only sweet after I started sprinkling cinnamon and sugar over them right after cooking. It ended up being much like the cinnamon tortilla chips I use with fruit salsa. Not like any sweet Indian bread I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States