Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Excellent rice dish! As I began cooking it, I realized (and was shocked) that I was OUT of raisins...extremely unusual for me! Disappointed, I carried on...the rice was still fantastic, but I know the raisins would complete the dish! Super yummy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This rice is so sweet and just delicious. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chicken
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was a fantastic rice side dish. I upped the red pepper flakes as we like spicy food. The presentation looked wonderful and the taste was creamy, spicy and wonderful on the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
My husband & I loved this recipe! The spices were perfect and the house smelled wonderful as it was cooking. The only adjustment I will make next time is to use light coconut milk and a 1/2 cup of cashew pieces, to see if it lightens it up the recipe calorie-wise. I served this alongside Country Captain Chicken and Indian Cauliflower (the later is also on this site). Finally garnishing this with fresh cilantro definitely gives it an added umph, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Amazing!! Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This rice was wonderful. Lots of flavor and texture with the cashews and raisins. Easy to make and delicious. It is even better the next day. I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Wow, this is tasty! And very easy to make! I added ~1/2c. onions for extra flavor and I think it helped. I also made sure to rehydrate my raisins as best I could before they went into the rice (covered in boiling water for ~10 min, drained). Everyone enjoyed and it was gone between the 6 of us. Next time I'll add onions and maybe mushrooms, too. Thanks Michelle! *Update* Delicious with Vegetarian Korma! Mmm yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I did everything the recipe said, and it still had no flavor:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is the tastiest rice I've had to date! I don't like raisins or nuts in my Indian dishes though so I leave those out along with the chili flakes because I have young children eating it. I LOVE this rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Perfect with a spicy Indian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States