Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
wasn't as exciting as I was expecting given all the glowing reviews. Not much in the way of flavor; kind of bland really. I think I might have overcooked it though...ended up tasting kind of like a couscous dish. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used one cup of rice and a can of Campbell's chicken broth the first time around. My husband couldn't stop raving about it and even took it to work the next day and ate it by itself without any meat or veggies. When I cooked it a second time and followed the rice measurements it didn't turn out as well. Plus I substituted the chicken stock with 1 chicken bouillon cube melted in 2 cups of boiling water. The dish just didn't taste as magnificent as the first go round. But what a wonderful easy recipe. I immediately added it to my favourites list and shared it with my sister. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Yummy! It can be a little more spicy but overall a great side dish and one that I will make often from now on! Not to mention the bright yellow color makes it very presentable for company. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very good. After reading other reviews, I increased spices. Increased Tumeric to 1/3 tsp , added 1/4 tsp Curry powder, 2 tbsp onion, two shakes Cayenne powder (had no pepper flakes) and a shake of Cinnamon. I didn't have Cashew nuts so tried Walnut but not keen, so used Salted Peanuts which worked well. Raisins are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Super yummy but could maybe use more seasoning and some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I used a nut mix and added chick peas for extra protein. I will be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I tried this last night for dinner and it was really good ice. Loved the crunchiness of the cashew and the sweetness of the raisins. This made for quite a change in the rice we usually have. I will make it again for sure. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belemi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The recipe was great! It took my rice about 40 min rather than 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This was a big hit with the family and I will certainly make it again. I only had almonds on hand and used those instead of the cashews. I also added a can of garbanzo beans to make it a main dish. An extra shot of Thai red curry rub was added as well. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a super easy recipe to make and it was very tasty, although the flavour wasn't super strong (which I liked but some people might want to add more tumeric or something). The only thing with my recipe, is that it took about 40 minutes to cook (and the recipe called for 20). It's a great recipe and I will for sure make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States