Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Great stuff! I added some green beans to up the veggies and it worked out perfectly as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Pretty tasty. But it's missing something. The flavor, honestly, is a bit bland, except when you bit into a raisin. I think I'll try the onion/garlic suggestion next time. BTW, this recipe makes A LOT so be sure you adjust for the size of the crowd you're feeding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyBill

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Wow--this was so easy for a really creamy, delicious rice. I didn't have turmeric and added a 1/2 t curry. I also used lite coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
A super duper recipe! We love Indian food and this is such a great dish! You can dress it up with chicken, beef or pork or keep it vegetarian - any way, it is superb! It makes great leftovers too! I used Penzey's Sweet Curry powder and Trader Joe's salted cashews and there is nothing I would change at all about this gem of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I made a mistake and used cream of coconut (sweet) instead of coconut milk and my whole family loved it! Then I made it again with the coconut milk and they liked it, but not nearly as much. I personally thought it was too sweet with the cream of coconut, but will try it again using less than a whole can. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Excellent! I added fried onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This is one interesting recipe. I used brown rice and substituted the coconut milk with soy milk. I found the raisins made this dish sweet while the spices made it savory, and the blend was odd, but 1 T. of sugar solved that problem. The adults enjoyed this creamy dish, but it was a bit too different for the younger palates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tinpotcook
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
You can not go wrong. add this and that and it still works. we like more chilli out here in AU Tintaldra it's by the Murray River. The Curry's will be Hot next weekend. Love Tinpotcook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinpotcook

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Rice turned out really good, nice and tasty I used yellow raisins, and pine nuts instead of the cashews. Served with Lamb and Garlic Naan, was yummy. made for my 3 brothers. no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYTRUTH20

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
A fantastic recipe. Made it almost exactly as written, except I had no tumeric and used curry powder instead. Wonderful side dish--different and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States