Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is the tastiest rice I've had to date! I don't like raisins or nuts in my Indian dishes though so I leave those out along with the chili flakes because I have young children eating it. I LOVE this rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Perfect with a spicy Indian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
i used Golden Raisins and Roasted Garlic & Bell Pepper seasoning blend from McCormick, a Pinch. Served with Citrus Grilled Chicken and stir fried Broccoli with onion,red and yellow bell peppers. Delicious addition. My 13 year old had 2nds and when I told her it had coconut milk in the recipe I got a "your a cool Mom" look. thanks for the great alternative to plain old rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela S. Leitzen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Sunday nights, I usually go all out. It's family night. Instead of going out to a restaurant, I love cooking at home. I love creating or simply looking up a great recipe on allrecipes.com. I decided to try "Indian". I made chicken tikka masala and I tried this recipe. It was great. I also made naan bread, cucumber raita and mango chutney. My family was so impressed. This rice recipe was so full of flavor and mild at the same time. Great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillycooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was great, very flavorful. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of both curry and cinnamon. Left out the oil and didn't miss it. Also used light coconut milk. Served with Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori with was also fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I used sliced almonds in place of cashews and purple raisins rather than golden because that's what I had. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
ooooh, don't change a single thing! this recipe is too good. do you know why i know this?? because my indian friends are asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I loved the way this turned out. I think that it was a wonderful complement to our Indian Themed dinner. I served this with Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) and Naan from this site. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
If you are looking for a good Indian rice , you have found it. I had never made Indian rice before so wanted to try a recipe that wouldn't be too spicey. This was delicious and very creamy with the addition of the coconut milk. I had plenty left over for 2 more meals . One I added chicken and hope to use the other left over rice with another Indian vegetable recipe. This is really delicious , if you haven't tried basmati rice before here is your chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Unbelievable! I made this with an chicken curry dish and my husband's eyes rolled into the back of his head in sheer pleasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Raschke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States