Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This recipe is very tasty. For a healthier version, I replaced the can of coconut milk and vegetable oil with coconut oil and Silk's 'True Coconut' milk. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Wow! We tried this recipe - sort of - and loved it. We didn't have any basmati so substituted 1 c jasmine & 1/2 c black rice. Then couldn't find chicken stock so substituted beef, and then finally found out we were out of raisins so 1/2 cup of chopped up dates were used instead. Regardless, rice turned out beautifully. Thank you for sharing this recipe, we will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Great Indian Rice dish! Used Craisins bc didn't have raisins and still good. i think next time i will increase spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Really good and a nice change from ordinary rice. I served this with Tandoori Chicken Thighs. I would only make with Indian/Middle Eastern food though as the spice profile probably wouldn't match well with mutch else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Great rice -- love the recepie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Delicious! Put the cashews in at the very end to just get them hot, otherwise they end up super soggy. You need the crunch. I also had to use my curry powder because I was out of everything except the red pepper. turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This is a very easy recipe to throw together without a lot of prep, and tastes fantastic. It's a recipe I tried and have made numerous times since. I throw in about 1/2 cup of diced onion and a couple cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I liked it and it got rave reviews from my partner. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
The only change I made was making this with Yellow rice. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was a huge hit with my family! Served with Grilled turkey & cheddar paninis with mango chutney. Yum! Basmati rice takes way longer than 20 minutes to cook but, I knew that ahead of time. Probably cooked mine for about 40 minutes. It came out perfect. Was a very nice Indian dinner and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States