Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This was a big hit with the family and I will certainly make it again. I only had almonds on hand and used those instead of the cashews. I also added a can of garbanzo beans to make it a main dish. An extra shot of Thai red curry rub was added as well. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a super easy recipe to make and it was very tasty, although the flavour wasn't super strong (which I liked but some people might want to add more tumeric or something). The only thing with my recipe, is that it took about 40 minutes to cook (and the recipe called for 20). It's a great recipe and I will for sure make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I am not a huge fan of Indian food, but I enjoyed this dish. My husband and oldest son, who LOVE Indian food said it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This recipe is very tasty. For a healthier version, I replaced the can of coconut milk and vegetable oil with coconut oil and Silk's 'True Coconut' milk. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Wow! We tried this recipe - sort of - and loved it. We didn't have any basmati so substituted 1 c jasmine & 1/2 c black rice. Then couldn't find chicken stock so substituted beef, and then finally found out we were out of raisins so 1/2 cup of chopped up dates were used instead. Regardless, rice turned out beautifully. Thank you for sharing this recipe, we will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Great Indian Rice dish! Used Craisins bc didn't have raisins and still good. i think next time i will increase spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Really good and a nice change from ordinary rice. I served this with Tandoori Chicken Thighs. I would only make with Indian/Middle Eastern food though as the spice profile probably wouldn't match well with mutch else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Great rice -- love the recepie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Delicious! Put the cashews in at the very end to just get them hot, otherwise they end up super soggy. You need the crunch. I also had to use my curry powder because I was out of everything except the red pepper. turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This is a very easy recipe to throw together without a lot of prep, and tastes fantastic. It's a recipe I tried and have made numerous times since. I throw in about 1/2 cup of diced onion and a couple cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States