Indian-Style Rice with Cashews, Raisins and Turmeric Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was good and easy to make, just keep an eye on the rice when you fry it for the first step. People are complaining that it was bland, but I don't think it's supposed to be anything other than what it is. You get savory and sweet together. It's a mellow dish. Not every Indian dish is in-your-face spicy/spiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Amazing Indian rice! Very tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I'm not a fan of Cashews or Raisins so made it without and added grated carrots. I also didn't have basmati rice so used a wild rice blend, just cooked it longer, and it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
We are a vegetarian family so I substituted the chicken stock for vegetable stock. The flavor was wonderful and it got rave reviews when I cooked it for Community Dinner. I adjusted the recipe to make 25 servings and it was still a little chewy after an hour of cooking. That being said I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I really enjoyed this rice dish, it was easy to make and tasty. I served it with carrots and broccoli, and the 'Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken' recipe I found on here which was also very tasty,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a nice rice dish to go along with curries or masala dishes. I did not have raisins or cashews so I substituted with dried cranberries and toasted pine nuts. Colorful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiaDys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I took others suggestions and added about a half cup of onion. I sautéed it with the rice. I also usedngolden raisins and added dried cranberries, madjool dates and a small amount of fresh ginger. This was very delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Amazing flavors blended...Love, Love, Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
wasn't as exciting as I was expecting given all the glowing reviews. Not much in the way of flavor; kind of bland really. I think I might have overcooked it though...ended up tasting kind of like a couscous dish. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used one cup of rice and a can of Campbell's chicken broth the first time around. My husband couldn't stop raving about it and even took it to work the next day and ate it by itself without any meat or veggies. When I cooked it a second time and followed the rice measurements it didn't turn out as well. Plus I substituted the chicken stock with 1 chicken bouillon cube melted in 2 cups of boiling water. The dish just didn't taste as magnificent as the first go round. But what a wonderful easy recipe. I immediately added it to my favourites list and shared it with my sister. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States