Indian-Style Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Loved this recipe! I didn't have the peppers or heavy cream. I used half and half instead. I used one onion and it was the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
That was my first try in Indian Butter Chicken and I was fascinated by the smooth and fresh taste. As I love coriander I added some more than written in the list. Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Really great butter chicken! Didn't change anything and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Great recipe. I doubled the garlic and didnt use red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is not a bad place to start. I used 2 more tomatoes, less onion (half of one), 1 more garlic, and fresh fenugreek leaves. I skipped the yogurt and used fat free half and half. A pound of chicken is also a bit much. I used one good sized breast. Also, use whole caradmom/cloves/cinnamon. Where is the turmeric?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I don't know what butter chicken is supposed to taste like, but this was a real hit. While it was cooking, it really smelled like Indian food. We live in Puerto Rico and don't have any ethnic restaurants near us, so it was like going out for dinner! I will definitely make this again. (I did have to leave out the cloves because I couldn't find them in the stores).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mousch
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This wasn't like restaurant butter chicken, but it was still delicious - and I was missing nutmeg, ginger, cloves and lemon. I added extra garam masala to compensate and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. Easy to prepare and very tasty. The only substitution I made was using cayenne pepper for the crushed red pepper. I can't imagine it tasting all that different with the crushed red peppers versus the cayenne pepper. This is a definate keeper. My hubby loved it as well as children. Not too bad if I don't say so myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
It was pretty good, but not what I thought it was going to be! I was looking for the butter chicken taste from my favorite Indian restaurant. This isn't it, but it IS good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
As another reviewer noted, this is not like "restaurant style" Murgh Makhni. On the other hand, authentic Indian food is seldom like American-style "Indian" restaurant food. Thick gravy is made in restaurants by the addition of cornstarch or other thickener. No Indian cook I know does so. While the recipe calls for two onions, the size of onions varies greatly - up to grapefruit size. I'd suggest using onions to taste, especially since people vary wildly in how well they like onions. I think the suggested size for the chicken is too big, I'd go for about an inch cubes and then it'll cook more quickly too. Prep time is about right. Somebody complained about the ingredients being incorrect - that again is a matter of taste. There is no one recipe for any Indian dish, although some vary less than others. India's a big place. I've seen simpler recipes and I've seen more complicated - Indian cooks are typically a LOT more inventive than most American's I know. This one is typical of the dish as served in many, though not all, Indian homes. The bell pepper is not so typical in India, but many Indian cooks use it stateside because of the ready availability here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States