Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Fabulous dish! I have found a few recipes that I consider restaurant quality, and this is definitely one of them. I added a bag of frozen scallops with the juices and still had lots of sauce...enough to add a veggie next time. I used regular mustard seeds and they tasted wonderful. The spices blend nicely, yet you can taste them individually at times too. This deserves more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I initially made this as written, and I have to agree with the other reviewers who said it was lacking flavor. However, with a few tweaks, this was one of the best Indian dishes I have made in a long long time. You just have to play around with the spices until it's how you like it (obviously). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This recipe was fantastic. My picky eater husband licked his plate clean. This is definitely a keeper. I too omitted the mustard seeds, I didn't have them. Not sure why others found the recipe bland. With all the spices it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Have made this a few times and it is awesome. I did make one minor change just to add a bit more flavor and that was to add about 1-2 tbsp of a hot red curry paste that I had on hand, and I am not much of a cilantro fan so I only added it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Nice recipe, could use a wee bit of heat though (and I am not a fan of spicy foods!) I didn't have black mustard seeds on hand so I used yellow mustard seeds. Be aware that when you put the seeds in, it only takes 5-10 seconds for them to start popping. I had the skillet lid handy and took it off the heat and covered it for about 30 seconds until they finished... otherwise they fly all over your kitchen. I also added bay scallops and thought they tasted even better than the shrimp did. Definitely worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This dish was very good. When I make it again I might add a few more spices though. I also recomend doubling the sauce. A few more shrimp might help as well. My husband and even our dinner guest really enjoyed it. It was TERRIFIC as lefovers. I would give it a try for sure. Be creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I was extremely pleased with the ease of preparation and the taste. Excellent! I expected the recipe to be a bit on the spicy side, but it wasn't - even my 4 year old ate her share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
DH looooooved this dish. Thanks for sharing. Made it just as written....excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I made this with chicken instead of prawns. Started by browning the chicken then removing from pan. I then added the dry spices to hot oil & cooked for a few minutes, then added an onion along with the garlic & chili, then added the chicken back in & the coconut milk. I let it cook for an hour as I wanted the chicken to be tender. The flavour got stronger the longer it cooked. Just before serving I added the fresh corriander & lemon juice. It was nice but not wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I made this with chicken breasts instead of shrimp and served it over couscous. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States