Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Once you have all the ingredients, it's super easy to make. It tastes great. And it makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This recipe was fantastic. My picky eater husband licked his plate clean. This is definitely a keeper. I too omitted the mustard seeds, I didn't have them. Not sure why others found the recipe bland. With all the spices it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Nothing special, but certainly edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Combo of spices overpower the delicate taste of shrimp.I would have given it zero but they don't have a zero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I was extremely pleased with the ease of preparation and the taste. Excellent! I expected the recipe to be a bit on the spicy side, but it wasn't - even my 4 year old ate her share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Have made this a few times and it is awesome. I did make one minor change just to add a bit more flavor and that was to add about 1-2 tbsp of a hot red curry paste that I had on hand, and I am not much of a cilantro fan so I only added it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This dish was very good. When I make it again I might add a few more spices though. I also recomend doubling the sauce. A few more shrimp might help as well. My husband and even our dinner guest really enjoyed it. It was TERRIFIC as lefovers. I would give it a try for sure. Be creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I was not blown away by this at all. I adjusted the spices - but still did not find it very flavourful - and there was way too much salt. The only difference was that I used sea salt. So don't!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Fabulous dish! I have found a few recipes that I consider restaurant quality, and this is definitely one of them. I added a bag of frozen scallops with the juices and still had lots of sauce...enough to add a veggie next time. I used regular mustard seeds and they tasted wonderful. The spices blend nicely, yet you can taste them individually at times too. This deserves more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This is a good recipe. We did not alter the recipe in anyway except for the omission of black mustard seeds (we couldn't find them). I would recommend doubling the sauce. It is not an "attractive" dish but it is very tasty. Serve over rice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States