Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Once you have all the ingredients, it's super easy to make. It tastes great. And it makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This recipe was fantastic. My picky eater husband licked his plate clean. This is definitely a keeper. I too omitted the mustard seeds, I didn't have them. Not sure why others found the recipe bland. With all the spices it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Nothing special, but certainly edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Combo of spices overpower the delicate taste of shrimp.I would have given it zero but they don't have a zero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I was extremely pleased with the ease of preparation and the taste. Excellent! I expected the recipe to be a bit on the spicy side, but it wasn't - even my 4 year old ate her share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Have made this a few times and it is awesome. I did make one minor change just to add a bit more flavor and that was to add about 1-2 tbsp of a hot red curry paste that I had on hand, and I am not much of a cilantro fan so I only added it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This dish was very good. When I make it again I might add a few more spices though. I also recomend doubling the sauce. A few more shrimp might help as well. My husband and even our dinner guest really enjoyed it. It was TERRIFIC as lefovers. I would give it a try for sure. Be creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I was not blown away by this at all. I adjusted the spices - but still did not find it very flavourful - and there was way too much salt. The only difference was that I used sea salt. So don't!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Fabulous dish! I have found a few recipes that I consider restaurant quality, and this is definitely one of them. I added a bag of frozen scallops with the juices and still had lots of sauce...enough to add a veggie next time. I used regular mustard seeds and they tasted wonderful. The spices blend nicely, yet you can taste them individually at times too. This deserves more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This is a good recipe. We did not alter the recipe in anyway except for the omission of black mustard seeds (we couldn't find them). I would recommend doubling the sauce. It is not an "attractive" dish but it is very tasty. Serve over rice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States