Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very good, easy to follow recipe, Don't forget the rice and nan. Not too spicy, but I didn't add the jalapeno seeds. I just added some more red chilli powder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I made this with chicken instead of prawns. Started by browning the chicken then removing from pan. I then added the dry spices to hot oil & cooked for a few minutes, then added an onion along with the garlic & chili, then added the chicken back in & the coconut milk. I let it cook for an hour as I wanted the chicken to be tender. The flavour got stronger the longer it cooked. Just before serving I added the fresh corriander & lemon juice. It was nice but not wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Surprisingly quick, easy and extremely delicious. Just like other reviewers, I was at first put off by the smell of the sauce, but it turned out very yummy, and when combined with the shrimp and heated through, it became pleasantly fragrant. The spices complement each other well and combine into a very delightful bouquet both in smell and taste. I wanted to share a picture of this, but the food was gone faster that I could remember where my camera was... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackbodhi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Great! I used chicken instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SADS
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Very good recipe - I omitted the mustard seeds since I didn't have them, and added mushrooms in with the garlic. I also added a tsp of red pepper since we like our food spicy! Next time, I'm going to add onions in as well. Served over basmati rice - my husband had 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is easy and delicious. It's a fave with my boyfriend and almost everyone I have served it to - it's definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I initially made this as written, and I have to agree with the other reviewers who said it was lacking flavor. However, with a few tweaks, this was one of the best Indian dishes I have made in a long long time. You just have to play around with the spices until it's how you like it (obviously). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flower
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Easy and very tasty. Accompanied by wild rice and Roti bread it was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I often serve this for guests--it's easy to make but impressive. Lovely mixture of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very Delicious, and easy too. Even with a store run to pick up a jalapeno and tomato paste, this came together in about 30 minutes. Served with rice, and saag with paneer from a pouch. It is a very rich meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States