Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SADS
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Very good recipe - I omitted the mustard seeds since I didn't have them, and added mushrooms in with the garlic. I also added a tsp of red pepper since we like our food spicy! Next time, I'm going to add onions in as well. Served over basmati rice - my husband had 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is easy and delicious. It's a fave with my boyfriend and almost everyone I have served it to - it's definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I initially made this as written, and I have to agree with the other reviewers who said it was lacking flavor. However, with a few tweaks, this was one of the best Indian dishes I have made in a long long time. You just have to play around with the spices until it's how you like it (obviously). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flower
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Easy and very tasty. Accompanied by wild rice and Roti bread it was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I often serve this for guests--it's easy to make but impressive. Lovely mixture of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very Delicious, and easy too. Even with a store run to pick up a jalapeno and tomato paste, this came together in about 30 minutes. Served with rice, and saag with paneer from a pouch. It is a very rich meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I frequently cook Indian food, so I am no novice. This dish was coming together nicely until I tasted the sauce. It had a funky, almost spoiled flavor. Since I was sipping wine as I cooked (a habit I'm quite fond of), I thought that maybe my palate was compromised from the wine, so I had my husband taste the sauce. He thought it tasted "off" as well. Luckily, I had sauted the shrimp and removed it from the pan before adding the sauce, out of fear that it would overcook. We made a quick scampi out of the shrimp and threw out the sauce. This recipe is the biggest disappointment I have encountered on this site. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Very good, with an authentic Indian flavor. After reading the other reviews regarding how mild it tasted, I went a little heavier on the ground red pepper. It ended up being almost too hot. I would suggest making the recipe excactly as written first, then making adjustments to suit tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I made this with chicken breasts instead of shrimp and served it over couscous. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Nice recipe, could use a wee bit of heat though (and I am not a fan of spicy foods!) I didn't have black mustard seeds on hand so I used yellow mustard seeds. Be aware that when you put the seeds in, it only takes 5-10 seconds for them to start popping. I had the skillet lid handy and took it off the heat and covered it for about 30 seconds until they finished... otherwise they fly all over your kitchen. I also added bay scallops and thought they tasted even better than the shrimp did. Definitely worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States