Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
awesome dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I put some extra chillies for this one and oh how it rocked my boat :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
DH looooooved this dish. Thanks for sharing. Made it just as written....excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Absolutely fantastic!! Followed recipe exactly, except I doubled it b/c it didn't make much. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Excellent...loved this! Used crushed red pepper flakes as I did not have ground red pepper and had to omit the mustard seeds as I didn't notice them until I was already committed to the recipe (never bought before!) Served over rice and had steamed broccoli and found this to be full of flavour. Hubby and really enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I tried a simpler variation on this recipe that didn't require a run to the store. I didn't have lemon juice, cumin, red pepper, cilantro, or jalapeno so I left those out and doubled the tomato paste. I didn't have shrimp or coconut milk so I substituted tofu and skim milk and added coconut flakes. I served over rice noodles. Despite missing 1/2 the ingredients it was still amazing! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very good, easy to follow recipe, Don't forget the rice and nan. Not too spicy, but I didn't add the jalapeno seeds. I just added some more red chilli powder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I made this with chicken instead of prawns. Started by browning the chicken then removing from pan. I then added the dry spices to hot oil & cooked for a few minutes, then added an onion along with the garlic & chili, then added the chicken back in & the coconut milk. I let it cook for an hour as I wanted the chicken to be tender. The flavour got stronger the longer it cooked. Just before serving I added the fresh corriander & lemon juice. It was nice but not wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Surprisingly quick, easy and extremely delicious. Just like other reviewers, I was at first put off by the smell of the sauce, but it turned out very yummy, and when combined with the shrimp and heated through, it became pleasantly fragrant. The spices complement each other well and combine into a very delightful bouquet both in smell and taste. I wanted to share a picture of this, but the food was gone faster that I could remember where my camera was... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackbodhi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Great! I used chicken instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States