Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
A+. Flavors blended together nicely and was relatively easy to prepare. I felt like I was at my favorite Indian resturant. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This is not a gourmet dish, but I give it 5 stars as it is my favorite kind of weeknight meal - easy to prepare with staple ingredients and very satisfying, with just enough left over for lunch. I have made it twice with absolutely no changes. Oh, wait, I might have used some ghee in place of oil....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
The first time I cooked this meal, I substituted prawns for the shrimps, and served it with rice. It was fine, but I wanted to give it a try with shrimps, though. It is actually better with shrimps, but you gotta have a very large pan (a wok could come in handy for this recipe), because if you want shrimps to be cooked, you gonna need some space. I didn't have jalapeno, so I added a bit more than 1 tablespoon sambal (pureed chiles). It was fine for me, but some found it too spicy. Definitely use a LOT of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This came out very well. Beware of the popping mustard seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This was wonderful! Nice and creamy, with just the right amount of spices. The coconut flavor really came through, but it wasn't overpowering. I used regular mustard seeds instead of black, and olive oil instead of vegetable, and I took another reviewer's suggestion and added some scallops--delicious! I'd make the sauce by itself and serve it over basmati rice or quinoa, it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This recipe was fantastic. My picky eater husband licked his plate clean. This is definitely a keeper. I too omitted the mustard seeds, I didn't have them. Not sure why others found the recipe bland. With all the spices it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Once you have all the ingredients, it's super easy to make. It tastes great. And it makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This recipe is magnificent! So flavorful and easy. Things I did differently: I didn't have black mustard seeds so I just omitted that step, I had sliced, jarred jalepenos so I cut a few of those up and I used peanut oil instead of vegetable. It was great over rice. I will definitely use again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Tulalip, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
My husband and I really enjoyed this one. He's Pakistani, and he paid it one of his greatest compliments--I could serve it to his family. For them, I would probably add a tiny bit more spicy stuff, but it tasted great the way it was. I served it over rice and with roasted asparagus. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Excellent! Be sure to use kosher salt so you don't overpower the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States