Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This recipe is magnificent! So flavorful and easy. Things I did differently: I didn't have black mustard seeds so I just omitted that step, I had sliced, jarred jalepenos so I cut a few of those up and I used peanut oil instead of vegetable. It was great over rice. I will definitely use again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Tulalip, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This is not a gourmet dish, but I give it 5 stars as it is my favorite kind of weeknight meal - easy to prepare with staple ingredients and very satisfying, with just enough left over for lunch. I have made it twice with absolutely no changes. Oh, wait, I might have used some ghee in place of oil....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
My husband and I really enjoyed this one. He's Pakistani, and he paid it one of his greatest compliments--I could serve it to his family. For them, I would probably add a tiny bit more spicy stuff, but it tasted great the way it was. I served it over rice and with roasted asparagus. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This came out very well. Beware of the popping mustard seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
We liked this a lot. It was quick and easy to make, and I had just about all ingredients on hand....(no mustard seeds). Served over basmati rice. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
A+. Flavors blended together nicely and was relatively easy to prepare. I felt like I was at my favorite Indian resturant. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
The sauce was very good. The flavor reminded me of a wonderful Madras soup that a local restaurant serves. Next time I would probably kick up the spices a bit and substitute the shrimp for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Very easy, a bit bland though. Be sure not to have your heat turned up too high when you go to add the mustard seeds - they like to shot up at you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This is a good recipe. We did not alter the recipe in anyway except for the omission of black mustard seeds (we couldn't find them). I would recommend doubling the sauce. It is not an "attractive" dish but it is very tasty. Serve over rice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Fabulous dish! I have found a few recipes that I consider restaurant quality, and this is definitely one of them. I added a bag of frozen scallops with the juices and still had lots of sauce...enough to add a veggie next time. I used regular mustard seeds and they tasted wonderful. The spices blend nicely, yet you can taste them individually at times too. This deserves more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States