Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This recipe is magnificent! So flavorful and easy. Things I did differently: I didn't have black mustard seeds so I just omitted that step, I had sliced, jarred jalepenos so I cut a few of those up and I used peanut oil instead of vegetable. It was great over rice. I will definitely use again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Tulalip, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This is not a gourmet dish, but I give it 5 stars as it is my favorite kind of weeknight meal - easy to prepare with staple ingredients and very satisfying, with just enough left over for lunch. I have made it twice with absolutely no changes. Oh, wait, I might have used some ghee in place of oil....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
My husband and I really enjoyed this one. He's Pakistani, and he paid it one of his greatest compliments--I could serve it to his family. For them, I would probably add a tiny bit more spicy stuff, but it tasted great the way it was. I served it over rice and with roasted asparagus. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This came out very well. Beware of the popping mustard seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
We liked this a lot. It was quick and easy to make, and I had just about all ingredients on hand....(no mustard seeds). Served over basmati rice. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
A+. Flavors blended together nicely and was relatively easy to prepare. I felt like I was at my favorite Indian resturant. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
The sauce was very good. The flavor reminded me of a wonderful Madras soup that a local restaurant serves. Next time I would probably kick up the spices a bit and substitute the shrimp for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Very easy, a bit bland though. Be sure not to have your heat turned up too high when you go to add the mustard seeds - they like to shot up at you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This is a good recipe. We did not alter the recipe in anyway except for the omission of black mustard seeds (we couldn't find them). I would recommend doubling the sauce. It is not an "attractive" dish but it is very tasty. Serve over rice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Fabulous dish! I have found a few recipes that I consider restaurant quality, and this is definitely one of them. I added a bag of frozen scallops with the juices and still had lots of sauce...enough to add a veggie next time. I used regular mustard seeds and they tasted wonderful. The spices blend nicely, yet you can taste them individually at times too. This deserves more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States