Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Great! I used chicken instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SADS
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Very good recipe - I omitted the mustard seeds since I didn't have them, and added mushrooms in with the garlic. I also added a tsp of red pepper since we like our food spicy! Next time, I'm going to add onions in as well. Served over basmati rice - my husband had 3 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is easy and delicious. It's a fave with my boyfriend and almost everyone I have served it to - it's definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I initially made this as written, and I have to agree with the other reviewers who said it was lacking flavor. However, with a few tweaks, this was one of the best Indian dishes I have made in a long long time. You just have to play around with the spices until it's how you like it (obviously). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flower
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Easy and very tasty. Accompanied by wild rice and Roti bread it was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I often serve this for guests--it's easy to make but impressive. Lovely mixture of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very Delicious, and easy too. Even with a store run to pick up a jalapeno and tomato paste, this came together in about 30 minutes. Served with rice, and saag with paneer from a pouch. It is a very rich meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I frequently cook Indian food, so I am no novice. This dish was coming together nicely until I tasted the sauce. It had a funky, almost spoiled flavor. Since I was sipping wine as I cooked (a habit I'm quite fond of), I thought that maybe my palate was compromised from the wine, so I had my husband taste the sauce. He thought it tasted "off" as well. Luckily, I had sauted the shrimp and removed it from the pan before adding the sauce, out of fear that it would overcook. We made a quick scampi out of the shrimp and threw out the sauce. This recipe is the biggest disappointment I have encountered on this site. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Very good, with an authentic Indian flavor. After reading the other reviews regarding how mild it tasted, I went a little heavier on the ground red pepper. It ended up being almost too hot. I would suggest making the recipe excactly as written first, then making adjustments to suit tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I made this with chicken breasts instead of shrimp and served it over couscous. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States