Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made this a couple nights ago for an Indian themed dinner party that I hosted...it was a hit! I doubled the amount of sauce. I didn't have mustard seed so I omitted it. I followed the advice of other reviewers and add scallops with the shrimp. I added a small onion, chooped with the garlic and I added 1 tbsp of red curry paste.The flavour and spices were perfect. For those who are not fans of spicy dishes I would follow the recipe as it's written and add more spices to taste along the way. Served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
So good! Double the sauce - that's the best part! I also added additional lemon juice to balance the flavors better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
awesome dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I put some extra chillies for this one and oh how it rocked my boat :-P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
DH looooooved this dish. Thanks for sharing. Made it just as written....excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Absolutely fantastic!! Followed recipe exactly, except I doubled it b/c it didn't make much. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Excellent...loved this! Used crushed red pepper flakes as I did not have ground red pepper and had to omit the mustard seeds as I didn't notice them until I was already committed to the recipe (never bought before!) Served over rice and had steamed broccoli and found this to be full of flavour. Hubby and really enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I tried a simpler variation on this recipe that didn't require a run to the store. I didn't have lemon juice, cumin, red pepper, cilantro, or jalapeno so I left those out and doubled the tomato paste. I didn't have shrimp or coconut milk so I substituted tofu and skim milk and added coconut flakes. I served over rice noodles. Despite missing 1/2 the ingredients it was still amazing! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very good, easy to follow recipe, Don't forget the rice and nan. Not too spicy, but I didn't add the jalapeno seeds. I just added some more red chilli powder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I made this with chicken instead of prawns. Started by browning the chicken then removing from pan. I then added the dry spices to hot oil & cooked for a few minutes, then added an onion along with the garlic & chili, then added the chicken back in & the coconut milk. I let it cook for an hour as I wanted the chicken to be tender. The flavour got stronger the longer it cooked. Just before serving I added the fresh corriander & lemon juice. It was nice but not wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States