Indian-Spiced Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I am the one who submitted this recipe. I'd like to point out that although the nutrition information makes it sound like this recipe is high in fat, most of the oil stays in the pan when you're done. It's just there to make the seasonings adhere to the chickpeas, and to keep the chickpeas from sticking to the pan. Probably some cooking spray would do the same trick if you're concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Excellent! A few tips: first.. the quality of your chickpeas will cause these to be mealy, or not. Field Day organics sells amazing chickpeas in a can, and they are creamy, not mealy, so they roast the best (make best hummus too). Next choice is Westfield organics. While I use Trader Joe's organic chickpeas in other recipes, this recipe will taste mealy if you use Joe's for this. Next, the lemon.. if you use a meyer lemon for juice, its great. I also added zest from the meyer and that's even better, has a lemon flavor but not too tart. As for the oven, if you make these in a conventional / older oven, they will likely not crisp well at 25-30 minutes if at all with more roasting. However, in a convection oven, the coating was perfectly adhered to all the chickpeas, the Fieldday and Westfield organic peas all came out non-mealy, and they crisped up in 25 minutes. Suggest making this in a good quality toaster oven with convection roasting if you can and otherwise have a regular oven. Saves energy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I thought this sounded interesting and decided to try it out on my kids. They loved it!! Quick, simple recipe to make that will make a healthy snack! Brought it to dinner club and they all asked for the recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe turned out very interesting. I really like it as a snack. It reminds me of boiled peanuts that have been shelled and seasoned. I just made a batch of them to see what I thought. I think I might start taking this with me to school to snack on while I am in class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
these were so so good. I didn't even have any lemon juice or coriander and they were still so so good. I think they needed a lot of extra time to get them crunchy, but crunchy they were! be sure to leave them in long enough. will make these again, the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The house smelled so good while these were in the oven. They are delicious. I will put the oven on convection next time so they will be good and crispy. Thanks for this recipe I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeanne O'Donohue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shamsa khan
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
luved it! The key to getting them a little crunchy is to place them in a single layer when baking. And check up on them as they are in the oven- you may need to keep them longer! We finished them as soon as they were done! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamsa khan
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
These are yummy if you like the somewhat sweet, Indian flavor - which I DO! However, describing the texture as "crispy" is a bit misleading. They are a TAD crispy on the outside and normal bean texture on the inside. Try 'em, you'll like 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
The spice flavor was very good, but I didn't like the texture. They weren't like a crunchy snack . . more of just a dry mealy (?) kind of thing. I ended up trying to pan fry them after the roasting to get more of a crispy/crunchy feel. After frying I tossed them with more spice, brown sugar and salt to add back flavor. It helped a bit and we still ate them, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillyj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
At first, I didn't like these, but the flavor grew on me. By the time they were gone, I was practically licking the bag I kept them in to get all the last little spices out. I followed the recipe exactly, and had to bake for almost double the amount of time...and I still wouldn't really call them crispy. But they were definitely tasty, and a flavorful snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States