Indian-Spiced Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I am the one who submitted this recipe. I'd like to point out that although the nutrition information makes it sound like this recipe is high in fat, most of the oil stays in the pan when you're done. It's just there to make the seasonings adhere to the chickpeas, and to keep the chickpeas from sticking to the pan. Probably some cooking spray would do the same trick if you're concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I thought this sounded interesting and decided to try it out on my kids. They loved it!! Quick, simple recipe to make that will make a healthy snack! Brought it to dinner club and they all asked for the recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
The spice flavor was very good, but I didn't like the texture. They weren't like a crunchy snack . . more of just a dry mealy (?) kind of thing. I ended up trying to pan fry them after the roasting to get more of a crispy/crunchy feel. After frying I tossed them with more spice, brown sugar and salt to add back flavor. It helped a bit and we still ate them, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillyj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe turned out very interesting. I really like it as a snack. It reminds me of boiled peanuts that have been shelled and seasoned. I just made a batch of them to see what I thought. I think I might start taking this with me to school to snack on while I am in class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
These are yummy if you like the somewhat sweet, Indian flavor - which I DO! However, describing the texture as "crispy" is a bit misleading. They are a TAD crispy on the outside and normal bean texture on the inside. Try 'em, you'll like 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
great healthy easy-to-make snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
They're ok. I pre-roasted them for about 1/2 hour at 375 degrees. They came out crunchy. I then dipped them in lemon juice, coated with cooking spray, and then coated them with the spices. This de-crunchified them. I then cooked again for 25 minutes at 325. They became too crunchy, losing the flavor. Next time, I might omit the lemon juice and just use PAM and coat with spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by shamsa khan
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
luved it! The key to getting them a little crunchy is to place them in a single layer when baking. And check up on them as they are in the oven- you may need to keep them longer! We finished them as soon as they were done! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamsa khan
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
A GOOD SUNDAY MORNING SNACK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The house smelled so good while these were in the oven. They are delicious. I will put the oven on convection next time so they will be good and crispy. Thanks for this recipe I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeanne O'Donohue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States