Indian-Spiced Roasted Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made these because I had a ton of chickpeas to use up from the leftovers of the salad bar at work, and I was making an Indian-themed dinner anyway. They weren't bad; in fact they were quite good, and made a nice side to my Indian dinner, but they're not something I'd make again. I just wanted to do something with chickpeas other than hummus, cause I already know I like that. It was worth a shot, and I'll certainly polish off the leftovers with gusto, but I think I'll stick to hummus for my go-to on chickpea recipes. I suppose they weren't as crunchy as I'd have liked, and I baked them for quite some time too. Still, nice blend of herb flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
So good! I had been waiting to make this for a while. I forgot the brown sugar and added a bit of cayenne. So yummy and spicy! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
They were tasty, but not spectacular. However, leftovers crisped up very nicely in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Since several other reviewers stated that these took longer than 30 minutes to crisp up, I was surprised when I checked them after 25 minutes and some of them had incinerated on my baking sheet. And I checked and I had roasted them at the correct temperature. I removed the ones that were still edible, but I have to say the garam masala flavor was overwhelming. DH ate one and said "They're all yours". I ate a few, but no more. They did smell good while cooking, but I don't think I'll make them again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Excellent! A few tips: first.. the quality of your chickpeas will cause these to be mealy, or not. Field Day organics sells amazing chickpeas in a can, and they are creamy, not mealy, so they roast the best (make best hummus too). Next choice is Westfield organics. While I use Trader Joe's organic chickpeas in other recipes, this recipe will taste mealy if you use Joe's for this. Next, the lemon.. if you use a meyer lemon for juice, its great. I also added zest from the meyer and that's even better, has a lemon flavor but not too tart. As for the oven, if you make these in a conventional / older oven, they will likely not crisp well at 25-30 minutes if at all with more roasting. However, in a convection oven, the coating was perfectly adhered to all the chickpeas, the Fieldday and Westfield organic peas all came out non-mealy, and they crisped up in 25 minutes. Suggest making this in a good quality toaster oven with convection roasting if you can and otherwise have a regular oven. Saves energy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This recipe is sorprisingly good , it is very crunchy on the outside and soft in the inside. The flavour is great, it is very well balanced.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent! This is our new favorite snack! I had to cook them for an extra 5 minutes to get them crunchy, but they do get crunchier as they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
At first, I didn't like these, but the flavor grew on me. By the time they were gone, I was practically licking the bag I kept them in to get all the last little spices out. I followed the recipe exactly, and had to bake for almost double the amount of time...and I still wouldn't really call them crispy. But they were definitely tasty, and a flavorful snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I did not like the lemon juice in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Very good! Definitely needs almost twice the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Chef John's Crunchy Spiced Chickpeas

Roasted chickpeas with cumin, paprika and cayenne pepper.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States