Indian Spiced Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Wonderful mix of flavors! I omitted the raisins and butter, and they were never missed. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Delicious! It looks really pretty too; all the colors make the dish special. It's tasty and healthy. I serve it with the Indian Tomato Chicken posted by Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Nutritious, tasty and visually appealing. It doesn't get any better than this. Because I like my Indian food with a bit of kick, I tripled the spices to really give it some flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
A tasty dish that I throughly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
This is a really flavorful rice recipe. It's great on it's own, but you might go into flavor overload if you serve it with curry or another spicy Indian dish. Green lentils require more cooking time, try the red ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I really liked this recipe. The dish turned out hearty, but not heavy, spicy, but now overpowering. I used chicken broth instead of just water to give it an even fuller flavour. I think that the next time I make it, I will definitely rince the rice first, to avoid a bit of "gloppiness" due to the starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Very, very nice and hearty! This makes 4 really large servings. I used basmati rice, and omitted the butter at the end. I felt this could use a little more "heat", so next time I'll add some red chili powder as well. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
What I liked best about this recipe was the sweet touch of the raisins (add a bit more) and the crunch of the lentils. I omitted the potatoes. The flavor is definitely Indian but not overpowering and went well with another recipe on this site (Indian pork chops). I thought the dish needed to be salted a bit more but I like things on the salty side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNBUZZPLUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I've made this several times, and it's delicious, but with some modifications. I use a lot more vegetables than the original recipe calls for - about double the veggies for the same amount of rice. I use whatever veggies I have - always onion, potato, and peas, but I've also put in bell peppers, carrots, celery (stalks and greens), and even broccoli. I also increase the spices. At the end I like to add some cashews. The hard part is getting everything to finish cooking together - it can be a delicate balance getting the potatoes and rice to fully cook without overdoing some of the veggies. I keep making it, though - it's a great recipe to introduce lentils without being so unusual that it scares off pickier eaters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Delicious, healthy and hearty! I substituted Garam Masala for cardamom but the recipe was just a tad bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States