Indian Spiced Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I replaced the lentils with quinoa and the peas with celery, and added 3 minced small green chilies. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soaad Ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
This was okay, but suffered from some textural problems. With the various additions at different times that necessitated stirring, I thought that the potato got kind of mushy. Next time, I might cook the lentils and potato together separately, with their own spices, and stir it all together briefly at the end. The red pepper seemed an odd choice, flavour wise; I would use a hot pepper, next time. The spicing was nice but milder than I prefer, so I added a liberal amount of garam masala after it was done, which helped enormously. The leftovers re-heated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
My family and I liked this recipe. I pre-cooked the garlic, onions, potatoes with the spices in a pan. Then added the mixture to the rice, lentils, peas and red pepper inside a rice cooker. This rice dish is a meal in itself. I made a soup, too and I'm glad I just had the two because it was so filling. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Very, very nice and hearty! This makes 4 really large servings. I used basmati rice, and omitted the butter at the end. I felt this could use a little more "heat", so next time I'll add some red chili powder as well. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Wonderful mix of flavors! I omitted the raisins and butter, and they were never missed. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I really liked this recipe. The dish turned out hearty, but not heavy, spicy, but now overpowering. I used chicken broth instead of just water to give it an even fuller flavour. I think that the next time I make it, I will definitely rince the rice first, to avoid a bit of "gloppiness" due to the starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
This is a really flavorful rice recipe. It's great on it's own, but you might go into flavor overload if you serve it with curry or another spicy Indian dish. Green lentils require more cooking time, try the red ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
A tasty dish that I throughly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States