Indian Spiced Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Delicious, healthy and hearty! I substituted Garam Masala for cardamom but the recipe was just a tad bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
All of the positive reviews for this recipe involved people changing the recipe, and doubling or even tripling the spices. I made the recipe as written, and wow, is this bland. Will not attempt to fix this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I've made this several times, and it's delicious, but with some modifications. I use a lot more vegetables than the original recipe calls for - about double the veggies for the same amount of rice. I use whatever veggies I have - always onion, potato, and peas, but I've also put in bell peppers, carrots, celery (stalks and greens), and even broccoli. I also increase the spices. At the end I like to add some cashews. The hard part is getting everything to finish cooking together - it can be a delicate balance getting the potatoes and rice to fully cook without overdoing some of the veggies. I keep making it, though - it's a great recipe to introduce lentils without being so unusual that it scares off pickier eaters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Nutritious, tasty and visually appealing. It doesn't get any better than this. Because I like my Indian food with a bit of kick, I tripled the spices to really give it some flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I didn't have any ginger or cinnamon so I don't know whether that made a difference. It was OK, don't know whether I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunderland, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.
Living In: Brentwood, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
What I liked best about this recipe was the sweet touch of the raisins (add a bit more) and the crunch of the lentils. I omitted the potatoes. The flavor is definitely Indian but not overpowering and went well with another recipe on this site (Indian pork chops). I thought the dish needed to be salted a bit more but I like things on the salty side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNBUZZPLUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Delicious! It looks really pretty too; all the colors make the dish special. It's tasty and healthy. I serve it with the Indian Tomato Chicken posted by Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made the recipe just as written... well except i did brown rice instead of jasmine, In the end though I found this to be rather bland. I agree with some of the other reviews in that I would add some heat and more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Very filling and surprisingly easy to make if you have everything chopped up before hand. I liked the sweetness of the raisens and added a lot more than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was a very nice dish. Had basmati and used that instead of Jasmine. Since this was not the main meal, I kept the spices exactly as written. I would however, double the spices if this was going to be the main course. I did add a small piece of cinnamon stick, and ground 3 cloves to add. I also added 1/2 tsp. tumeric for color. Very nice balance of spice. I didn't think the pepper would go w/the taste, so shredded 1 med. carrot instead and gave a beautiful color. Also tossed in a few pistachios during the second 10 min. simmer along w/the raisins and carrot. Potato was perfectly done and added it at the beginning of the simmer. This makes a nice dish and does make alot to feed 4 people by the time one gets the vegetables in there. Will make again. Served this w/"Indian style sheeshk kabab" and "Red Lentil Curry" here on Allrecipes and was a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States