Indian Spiced Rice Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Yup, yet another winner from allrecipes! I don't like raisins much, but they totally worked in this recipe. I wanted to cut back on the marshmallows and use some brown sugar instead, but I wasn't sure how it would set up. Regardless, this is delicious as written. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
A crispy rice treat for grown-ups! The spice is very subtle and tasty. I substituted almonds for the cashews and they worked just as well. I also sprinkled just a bit of salt over the top as the bars were setting for a sweet/salt taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIVER13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
An awesome (adult) twist on regular old Rice Crispy Treats. The whole house smells SO GOOD while the Cardimom, marshmallows and butter are melting. They tast pretty darn good, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I was very hesitant to make this recipes as I would never think to combine these ingredients together, but to my surprise all my guests had seconds and thirds! Personally though, I still prefer the traditional rice krispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are definitely a keeper - if you like Indian rice pudding, then you will like these. Instead of cashews, I used almonds (like one of the other reviewers) and they turned out excellent. And this is a tip that applies to all rice krispy treats - make sure that you sort of coax the krispies into the baking dish - don't press too hard, or they'll be dense and heavy instead of light and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blackened_Heart
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I love these and I love cardamom! I used half a cup of raisins and half a cup of dried cranberries. All I had in the house were walnuts so I used those instead of cashews. This is an amazing recipe. It's one I'm sure I'll be using for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackened_Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
AMAZING! Will definately make again-the cardomom made this adult version of rice krispies to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Cardamom is one of my favourite spices for baking so had to give this recipe a try. I was NOT disappointed! If you enjoy chai tea or Indian rice pudding you will enjoy this treat. I personally prefer using dried cranberries but many friends have said they prefer the golden raisins. Either way this one is a keeper. Next time I will try with dried blueberries or maybe even dried cherries. The choices are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I added coconut & poppy seed and all I can say is WOW - you have to try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Mmmmmm! If you like Indian rice pudding, you'll love this! I really liked it! I varied it by crushing the cashews into pretty smalll crumbles and added slightly more cardamom. Give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Marshmallow Treats

See how to make super-easy marshmallow treats.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States