Indian Spiced Rice Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
These were good. I cut the recipe in half and I used salted cashews and a blend of dried fruit. I didn't think the salt made much difference. I've made rice cereal treats many times. After the marshmallow and butter have completely melted, I turn the stove as low as it will go (we have gas)and mix in the dry ingredients. The marshmallow doesn't set up as quickly so mixing is easier and less is stuck to the pan. I use a pan with a wide bottom. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I made the recipe without any substitutes. It was considered a big hit with my family. I am not a fan of raisins, however I didn't notice the raisins. They added to the overall flavour of the rice crispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Oh my!! These are wonderful! I made a few modifications to the recipe. I used Earth Balance in place of butter and vegan marshmallows instead of regular ones. I also used 3 tsp of fresh ground cardamom, used a combination of raw cashews and almonds, and added a handful of minced crystalized ginger. Will definitely be making in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
So easy, so yummy! Adults who typically do not like rice treats thought these were fantastic! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA
Living In: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Incredibly delicious! A huge hit. I added 1tbsp Rose Water to the marshmallow-butter mix as well as 2 tbsp powdered coconut milk (don't use liquid as that will pop the cereal), some dried cranberries, and substituted strawberry marshmallows for the regular kind and chopped pistachios for the cashews. Yeah, they all got eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywoodartchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Mmmmmm! If you like Indian rice pudding, you'll love this! I really liked it! I varied it by crushing the cashews into pretty smalll crumbles and added slightly more cardamom. Give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I added coconut & poppy seed and all I can say is WOW - you have to try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Cardamom is one of my favourite spices for baking so had to give this recipe a try. I was NOT disappointed! If you enjoy chai tea or Indian rice pudding you will enjoy this treat. I personally prefer using dried cranberries but many friends have said they prefer the golden raisins. Either way this one is a keeper. Next time I will try with dried blueberries or maybe even dried cherries. The choices are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Definitely different, would have been fine with just cashews. Would make a variation of this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
AMAZING! Will definately make again-the cardomom made this adult version of rice krispies to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Marshmallow Treats

See how to make super-easy marshmallow treats.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States