Indian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I served this hot. I sauteed the veggies (fresh) with salt, pepper & curry powder, then added the cooked rice, then stired in reduced fat sour cream and a squeeze of lemon. Left out the fruit. I enjoyed this very much. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this for my husband who is Indian....I'm American & we are living in Bombay right now...he didn't find it that great...I wasn't able to find heavy cream so I had to make my own to use...I'm not too sure if this was the cause of it not tasting great...I'd like to think not...I also used basmati rice & I ended up adding some chili powder for spice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fancypants

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
The apples did not work at all in this dish. I had to douse it with hoisin sauce to get it down. I did use tart apples, but even with sweet apples I don't see this working
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Asparagus with raisins, curry powder, and apples...i'm normally the type that likes tons of flavor in my food but this is not an appealing combination at all. And I am not sure how this is Indian other than the curry powder. I gave points for attractive presentation and healthiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freida

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Very good overall! A couple changes: I left out the bell pepper, used fresh asparagus as others recommended, and used a mix of brown rice, black rice, and barley that I had on hand. Only downside was my fault: I served a gluten-free guest, and didn't realize the barley I added had gluten! Oops! I served it as a side to Masala Spiced Roast Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong, but this was bland and the flavors that were present did not mesh wellI used fresh asparagus in lieu of canned and also forgot raisins, but I think I followed all the other directions. Glad to see others had better success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe and neither were the other party guests. I don't know what I did wrong, but it was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
So good, but I did double the dressing as the taste was too mild for us otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Delicious! I did use fresh asparagus, however, steamed them until crisp/tender. And used jasmine rice to be a bit more authentic. After tasting it decided it needed more 'crunch', so I sprinkled some chopped walnuts on top...probably not so authentic, but fabulous none the less! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Delicious & easy!!! I used basmati & jasmine rice because I don't like brown rice(oh how I wish I did). Absolutely wonderful, perfeclty proportioned flavor but next time I'll definitely switch to fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States